We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
195
238
98
36
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
238
98
36
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine harbour edge bedroom apartment nice apartment road noise underground parking self catering main bedroom large balcony walking distance cape quarter serviced daily home from home living area full kitchen the air conditioning de waterkant
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room were great. However, when we checked in we were given a room that already had an occupiant. It took them a while to get us into an appropriate room as we got mixed up w another guest but we got there sorta in the end. We were in a different room than the records said we were meant to be. But the staff were very nice and friendly about the mix up and these things happen.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dmkp2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

We are sorry to hear of the confusion experienced upon arrival.

we will investigate this so as to ensure this does not happen again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Great location for various activities in Cape. Clean and spacious rooms with functional layouts. Good parking facilities.
Check-in process was not smooth as they had no rooms available at the time of check-in although it was already afternoon. Also the manager at the check-in was not really helpful to resolve the issue. After eventually getting the room 1,5h late everything else worked out perfectly.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eccis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

first the location isn't good! the area outside of the hotel isnt friendly to walk around- especially at nights- there are man standing in the corners of the streets. they have a well secure parking lot - and free which you definitely need.
also it is a self cattier apartment - there isn't really any near cafes around 1 or 2- but again no where you feel free ir safe to walk. it is located on the highway- not a noise view- very load. no double glassing windows. and inside the flat the have rolling blinds- but 3 of them were stuck and didn't work- so the room was full of light. the shutter blind between the main bedroom and bath didn't work which means there was no privacy.
the apartment it self is big and spacey. they have a/c but only in the living room. no carpet at the living room- the decor was basic nothing warm or arty.
staff was nice and friendly - they also have a storage room for luggage
i wouldn't stay there again- would stay at sea point or waterfront or lklak bay area

the pool is a joke. it is small and hardly full and it is under the open sky- which means you cant use it when it rains- not impressed- and definitely not good for kids

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eli72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Stayed at the HarbourEdge at a recent visit to Cape Town. Great location and close to all attractions and the Waterfront-area. We rented the penthouse which had a magnificent view and was very spacious as well as quite affordable. However, the apartment, especially the floors, were dirty and we found pieces of glass in the carpets. When we asked them to correct for this, they informed that it would be done right away. Yet, nothing was done; not even at the cleaning session performed the following day. Additionally, the WiFi did not work accordingly, i.e. lost connection every two minutes, during the entire week and the staff were not able to help us with this either. Not to recommend for anyone wanting to stay connected.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the establishment was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

These apartments aren’t entirely terrible. I haven’t seen cockroaches, nor have I been robbed; at least not literally. Though I have had the opportunity for a good nights sleep stolen by the crass stupidity of the the architects deciding that they’d orientate the rooms facing onto one of the busiest motorway and road intersections in Cape Town, and perhaps the busiest in the whole of South Africa. It was certainly the loudest hotel room I have ever stayed in.

Whilst I’ve stayed in other hotels adjacent to motorways, the architects had sensibly provided adequate acoustic protection. Whereas, unfortunately, try, try, and try again as they did to provide muffling by providing 3 sets of screening (external shutters, glass door, and blinds) none of which are the least bit effective bringing the noise down to a moderate level. Given the hard surfaces in the Harbouredge apartments, the noise just bounds around. As sound protection goes, it’s about as effective as standing next to a pneumatic-drill with a tea cosy on ones head. It’s loud outside, the sound protection is limited, and the open plan design means the sleeping area is only marginally quieter than sleeping in the middle of the motorway.

Therefore, staying at the Harbouredge is best considered if one of the following applies. 1. You are deaf. 2. You wish to become deaf. 3. You and your significant over have run out of things to say, and wish to mask the silence, or need the noise to mask your arguments. 4. You have an interest in cars, and car spotting, and identifying the different models by their exhausts and the noises they make.

It’s rather a shame, since the interior designers have done their very best at squeezing in five discernible zones into the small apartment. Balcony, sitting area, dining area, kitchen, and bedroom along with the bathroom are all quite fine. Very chic and urban, I guess they were inspired by the sounds of the city outside; quite possibly their hearing is yet to return from working on the project.

Final niggles, it’s a self catering apartment. It’s got an oven, very clean; looks hardly used - and indeed may be. Probably on account of there not being any cooking pots in the kitchen. There are bowls, cutting boards, and a variety of tools which are normally associated with cooking and are customarily provided by a self catering unit for example ladles, spatula and suchlike; yet no cooking pot or frying pan. So, having brought eggs in the not unreasonable expectation of being able to scramble them for breakfast I resorted to using the oven tray as a frying pan. It worked, though I don’t believe I should need be pushed to such cooking ingenuity; especially after a poor nights sleep from all the road noise.

I’m tired and grumpy. Though Cape Town is wonderful, and I’m sure I’ll find some earplugs for sale. Either that, or my hearing will be prove so irredeemably damaged that I shall no longer hear the racket outside.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Simon_Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay.

I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews