We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, well located guest house with great host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Ranked #60 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked in three days and really enjoyed our stay. The place is in a great spot and found it clean, homely and safe. We had a nice breakfast and found the room amenities really comfortable. There is also a nice outdoor space at the front of the property.

In the lead up our stay, Joe kept in touch regarding our arrival and when we got there he made a point to sit down and chat with us. He provided some great restaurant recommendations including La Boheme (really great menu, two mins walk away) and the Bungalow which was quite the sunset spot. After our table mountain hike he also arranged massages at the guest house in the dedicated spa area at short notice.

The only minor catch is the parking on the street and it is a busy road - we never had trouble getting a spot in front of the guest house, but you need to keep an eye out for impatient drivers while parallel parking.

We'd happily stay again! Thanks Joe and Mountview team.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cattyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Really well looked after by Joe and his team. Perfect start to our South African trip. Good breakfast and helpful guidance around what to do given the windy conditions. Rooms were spacious and we quickly adapt d to the drought conditions.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

I always prefer smaller, more personal, places to stay and this one was perfect. Spacious comfortable rooms and well-appointed as well. Breakfast was ample and the staff were personable and efficient. The guest house was also close to the waterfront, easy access to restaurants and all the traditional tourist facilities. We did not use the pool due to the water shortage. Thanks to Joe and all of the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenturesBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The Mountview Lodge is the perfect vor you Capetown stay. The lodge is just two minutes away from the ocean. A minute away on Main road you find heaps of restaurants, bars and shopping possibilities. Also you have the MyCiti bus stop just in front of the house.
The rooms are nice and very clean. Stuff is very friendly and provide a good breakfast to start your day. Especially Lebo is so nice and she will always ask you for breakfast eggs.
Joe is the owner and is such an amazing nice person. He was happy to help us with bookings (toursetc.) and restaurant recommendations.
All together we spend 18 days there and I felt very at home.
Noice depends very much on the other guests but I was never bothered.
Also it is situated perfect because with Uber you can be anywhere or at any attraction in about 10 minutes.
Thanks so much for the nice stay. Much appreciated. We will be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jasminda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

rooms are quite large for Sea point, and it is rather quiet. very nice lounge; good breakfast and one of the black ladies realy makes the difference she always has a smile and makes everything with the extra effort. When she was not there, the breakfast was 30 min later we just had to wait. Our room did not have a direct window, one small very high up and the bathroom window.
Anyway seapoint is a very nice area, the house is clean, beds comfortable, it offers all you need

Room Tip: rooms 2/3 are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,3 km away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
1,2 km away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
0,1 km away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
616 reviews
1,2 km away
Cheviot Place Guest House
Cheviot Place Guest House
#24 of 156 in Cape Town Central
163 reviews
0,2 km away
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#72 of 156 in Cape Town Central
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview Spa and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Spa and Guest House

Address: 208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 302 - R 1 756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountview Spa and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 4 star graded guest house centrally situated in Sea Point. Walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and transport. Close to V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Facilities include pool, jacuzzi, sauna and massage treatments. Rooms are en-suite with satellite TV, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities, ceiling fans, heaters, refrigerator, beach towels and other small extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountview Spa and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing