We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Roof Top”
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #87 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in privately owned roof top room of this hotel which was awesome! The view of the city and distant mountains were great. We at at the restaurant which had a very good buffet for breakfast and dinner that was reasonably priced and had a lot of variety. The bartender was also very good and personably. The bellmen were also very helpful for us. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent setting and professional service. Value for money.Food of the highest quality and tastefully served.
Rooms are modern and spacious. Bathroom is really modern and extra spacious.Worth a second and third stay.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank pieters120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed as part of a tour of South Africa.
Decent hotel but needs a bit of updating. Room was okay and clean. Food was okay but don't expect too much. Good location for city but felt very uncomfortable walking around as there are many asking for money. Be wary of some taxi drivers as the prices change a lot even though used hotel preferred company. they are supposed to be metered. Always get a price before getting in. Staff very friendly and attentive.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We arrived expecting a four-star hotel but our experience did not even come close.
After a long day out, we returned to find that we were unable to open our safe.
We called Clive to open the safe and realised that 400 Euros were missing.
A police report was lodged and an internal investigation was conducted.
The matter was escalated to the general manager (GM) but we are unconvinced by his explanation. The room was not covered by the CCTV but they were able to track that two employees had entered our room. The GM did not seem apologetic and seemed to be doubting our claim while siding his employees, saying there is no need to send them for a polygraph test. We have not received the investigation report that the GM promised and no compensation was made at all. We are deeply disappointed that a safe is NOT safe.
Amenities in the hotel were lousy. The gym did not even have a treadmill and the only two cycling machines were faulty. The settings for the aircon in the room could not be adjusted and there was no fridge in our room. People were smoking in non-designated areas so we could smell the smoke in our room.
Service was terrible. The staff were not helpful in providing solutions when we could not connect to the wifi. Toiletries were not replaced even though the supervisor supposedly checks our rooms after cleaning is done.

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER, NEVER GOING BACK.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jiahao792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Just got back from 4 nights at this hotel, with 11 of my mates. We went to Cape Town for the rugby sevens.
The hotel is very central, it is clean and well maintained.
The rooms were cleaned every day and the beds were very comfortable, you do get outside noise as the windows are not very soundproof.
The buffet breakfast was great and there was plenty of choice.
The bar area and Taff the barman was great to come home to at the end of the day.
All the staff were very friendly.
The only downfall is the ammount of beggars who bother you outside on the street, but this not the hotels fault, as it seems Cape Town is full of beggars.
All in all a very nice hotel with great staff.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,4 km away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#55 of 112 in Cape Town Central
716 reviews
0,6 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0,1 km away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#78 of 112 in Cape Town Central
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,6 km away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
72 reviews
0,6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
1 km away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 112 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 100 - R 2 478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing