We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for business visitors.”
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #87 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 28 May 2016

I read some negative reviews about the place on tripadvisor, and wasn't quite sure what to expect. I basically chose the place because of the location. But if you are a business traveller, I thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff are absolutely non intrusive but very effective. Like highly skilled ninjas, if you will. Everyone is very courteous and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aditya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Dear Aditya J

Thank you for your positive review with regards to your recent stay at The Fountains Hotel.
Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We are glad to hear that you found our excellent location to your satisfaction and were able to enjoy our fast uncapped WI-FI throughout the Hotel.
I am glad to see that our staff exceeded you expectations and I can assure your kind words will be shared with our team of ninjas.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fountain Hotel next time you visit Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Chane Achterbergh
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2016

After I was robbed I stayed in this hotel for almost a week. When I checked in I was crying and panicking. The staff made my stay nice and comforted me in such a way that when I left I felt secure and safe again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heleen375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Dear heleen375

Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review for the Fountains Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that our staff where able to restore your faith in mankind. Our guest safely and comfort are our top priority.
We hope to welcome you back to The Fountains Hotel soon.

Warmest Regards
Chane Achterbergh
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Very neat and nice decor. The food and the service was very good and friendly. Capetown is definitely one of our cleaner cities. Only stayed for one evening and it was overall very good. Decor is modern and nice. Our room was on one of the top floors and very quiet. Will definitely stay there again when I ever visit the Mothercity again.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Itchytwiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Dear Itchytwiggy

Thank you for taking the time to share you amazing experience at the Fountains Hotel. We always strive for feedback in order to constantly improve on our services.
It is always a special and inspired moment to learn that our guests enjoyed our decor, facilities and services. I am pleased to hear that you found the location of the Hotel so perfect, as we are walking distance from many attractions in the city center.
We look forward in welcoming you back upon your return to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Chane Achterbergh
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Neat clean. Nice bathroom enough toiletries but TV needed fixing. Weird table ironing board. Food recycled between dinner and breakfast. Not recommended if u need to work on computer. Dressing table serves as a desk It's a tight squeeze moving about in the snug room.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Sumayya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Dear Sumayya K

Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. It is unfortunate that you had a less favorable experience during your stay. I can assure you that your concerns have been taken to heart and corrective measures have been actioned.
However I am glad that the cleanliness of the room and bathroom where to your liking. When you next find yourself in Cape Town that you give our hotel a chance to show you our true level of service and when you are here enjoy the spacious bar and lounge complete with WI-FI perfect for catching up on those business tasks.

Warmest Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

The hotel is situated in the city Centre and next to the station as well which makes it easier to walk to the station. One can als walk to the banks and shopping Centre. It is easy to direct someone who is not familiar with the city to find the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank phill_rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,4 km away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
716 reviews
0,6 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0,1 km away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#78 of 112 in Cape Town Central
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,6 km away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
71 reviews
0,6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
1 km away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 112 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 110 - R 2 489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing