We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in great locale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay in one of the executive suites - it was clean, plush, unique and spacious. Definitely worth the extra money. The hotel was friendly and safe, with secure parking at the back.

The hotel is in a handy spot with nice restaurants really closeby and a good shopping centre with nice cafes at the end of the street.

Room Tip: Go for one of the executive suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cattyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location.

Kind Regards
Adine Perel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Location is real good. There are good restaurants and cafes nearby. Hotel has not breakfast room, but they give 100 rands voucher for three cafes nearby.(enough for juice, cafe and croissant but for nothing else ).
Room are spacious,kitchen with microwave oven and enough utensils for two persons. Bed is quite comfortable a little bit hard.
Personal keeps in facts. You can get help if you ask.
We were there a week and recommend Hippo.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Juhani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

This is a small hotel, located in a reasonably central location in Cape Town (about 10 minutes walk from Long Street). It is a modern interior, friendly staff and large comfortable rooms. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the locality

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank peterdeirdreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

This hotel is located in the city center and is easily reached from any part of the city. They have tie up for breakfast with three restaurants near by and give you a hundred Rand coupon for breakfast.
The rooms are spacious and the bath room had a shower and tub. The towels were clean. Overall value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank njan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience with regards to our excellent location, amazing restaurants for breakfast and our spacious rooms.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The hotel room was exactly as described on the site. We had a ton of space and everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the noise level was low most of the time. We had a view of Table Mountain which was a nice surprise. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we made a request if was fulfilled in a timely manner. The helped us book all of our excursions and made great recommendations for places to go and see. The location is amazing. There are shops and restaurants steps away from the hotel door. I also felt very safe. We would for sure stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017


Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 353 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 085 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 307 - R 2 823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing