We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
201
177
53
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
177
53
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fat cactus kloof street breakfast vouchers great location restaurants downstairs kitchenette area table mountain long street small kitchenette choice of restaurants off street parking within walking distance secure parking rooms are modern great room a great stay camps bay
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Located on Park Road and just a stones throw away from Long Street where all the pubs and food establishments etc are, it was situated in a great location. It was fairly quiet at night, even though our room was above Jerry's (who provide a free breakfast if your stay includes it). The reception was helpful booking and checking trips, arranging taxis etc. So overall can't complain.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience with regards to our excellent location and amazing restaurants for breakfast.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Hippo for 5 days in early December. The rooms are vey spacious, bed is comfortable, location is fantastic if you want to be close to cape town's downtown area. It is very close to a number of bars/ restaurants, so it's a lively area. As a result, some of the front facing rooms can get a bit noisy at night. For the breakfast, you get a generous voucher to take to a number of cafes. We went to Knead, and found it excellent. The hotel also hhs some limited parking spots, which are free. If I returned to Cape Town, would definitely stay at Hippo again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Archer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

On behalf of Hippo Boutique Hotel, I would like to humbly apologize for the experience with regards to the noise from the restaurants. We have double glazed all the windows and doors and have started installing carpets with rubber which absorbs the sounds.

We have another level of parking which many people are not aware of. We would like to assure you that we at Hippo Boutique Hotel pride ourselves in delivering the best guest service and strive to get the basics right consistently.

Thanks for all your feedback as it assists us to give the best service possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Adine Perel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for a few nights.
Location: many very lively bars and restaurants within the block (this is on the nicer part of the town, so you will feel OK to walk around with north American standards)
Easy access to downtown. ~20 minutes cab ride to airport (no traffic)
Clean and very spacious rooms with kitchenette
Breakfast: you get daily vouchours for a couple of restaurants in the vicinity. The Knead (20 m away from hotel) was amzing - vouchers is for 100 ZAR and covers a breakfast (omelet is ~ZAR 80 and coffee ZAR 20)
Two large grocery stores (SPAR and WholeWorth) within 100 m.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marcovish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Very centrally located just off Kloof Str.
Hippo can be considered an aparthotel rather than a boutique as it has no facilities other than reception.
Vouchers are given for breakfast at three cafes close by.
Rooms are spacious, modern and clean.
No elevator and quite expensive (maybe due to high season)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MCami61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down a review about your recent stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel. We do have a lift that goes up to the rooms and reception which is on the property. The taxis are supposed to go into our property to get to the lift. We also have a swimming pool which we have temporarily closed due to the drought.

Our prices are in line with other properties with the same standard in our area and yes it is season. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Adine Perel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Not much positive to say about this hotel, other than it’s location. If you don’t value your sleep, definitely book here. None of the rooms are quiet or soundproof and you hear EVERYTHING - the people above you, below you, next to you, in the hallway...oh and, we were initially put in the worst possible room over two restaurants that play pounding music until the early AM. Every. Single. Day. And the music is turned on at 9 am. It took us three complaints to finally get moved to another room. I had to push hard to finally get moved. The second room has less noise but you still hear everything. This place might as well be a hostel. Incredibly overpriced for what you get. Book elsewhere. I would NEVER go back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RMNH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments about your experience. We sincerely apologise for your inconvenience during your stay with us. We have put double glazing in all the windows and doors in the front facing rooms. This is the first time we have had a complaint about the noise in the back facing rooms. Please can you give me your contact details so I can phone you to discuss this matter in more detail. We run very high occupancies and could only move you when one of those rooms became available.

Once again wee sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards
Adine Perel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews