We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location with a strange bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Just got back from a week long business/vacation trip in South Africa, where I stayed at the Hippo in Cape Town. On the positives, it was a great room, in a great location, the hotel was trendy without overly doing it. We had one of the large 2 story rooms and enjoyed having the extra space. We also had a fantastic view of Table Mountain which was great to wake up to everyday and see. One of the odd things about the room was the bathroom, where the shower was directly in the upstairs bedroom, which made it difficult for someone to take a shower while someone was still waking up and the little glass partition did little to stop the water from getting all over the floor. But this was a minor gripe and the rest of the room was great. Also be aware that there was only a limited number of tv channels, which we found odd, however we didn't fly for more then a day to sit in a room and watch TV, so this really didn't matter to us. The staff was helpful and were able to setup several great tours for us and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was great. For the price it was fantastic and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great room at a reasonable price in Cape Town Central.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Casey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The room was nice, clean and well appointed. The bathroom with heated floor and a sweet shower was well appreciated after spending time in the bush. Below the hotel there are convenient restaurants, though Kloof and Long streets are nearby and offer plenty of options. Best to watch yourself walking any side streets at night for risk of getting harassed or mugged...though daytime is totally safe bear this centrally located hotel. Company gardens are a short walk away, table mountain a short über ride, and other sites all easily accessed.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Good Day,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for giving positive feedback regarding our spacious rooms and the central location with the variety of restaurants.

Yes, at night time it is important to take extra caution when walking around the area, but as you mentioned also very safe during the day.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The location is very nice near Longstreet (centre) and lots of restaurants, most of the staff are friendly en helpfull. The room at the left side of the building was quite annoying due to the noise of the cars passing by and the noise of the restaurant guests. In addition, a rebuilding took place at the time of our stay, also in the building next to the hotel. This noise was loud and lasted a few days. It would have been highly appreciated and polite if guests that are staying and/or would like to stay had been informed about this extra nuisance. The tvs are very outdated, HD view quality tvs are essential. The fridge which is a metre from the bed, made a lot of noise. The cleaning lady mostly didn't clean the whole room, you had to ask for the floor to get mobed and the sheets to get changed. The windows were dirty as well. The electricity fel out 3 times. Eventually we asked for another less noisy room, which we got. 3* sure, but not yet 4*. Would go back but only if i got a nice deal again, but wouldn't pay the regular price (website).

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the location and complimenting our friendly staff on being helpful.

I am terribly sorry to hear about the nuisance of the noise that was coming from the building next door - i truly apologize as not even I was aware that there was construction taking place, for then i would have definitely informed guests.
As to the noise from the Restaurants, the Hotel is busy implementing ways to eliminate and reduce the noise - as we have already placed the soundproof doors between the corridors and reception to reduce the sound travelling up the stairs and down the passages ( these doors are new ) as well as some of the front rooms have already received double glazing and the rest is still in progress.
We apologize that the television was not up to standard - some of the rooms have brand new tv's but not all of them yet (also still a work in progress).

As to our cleaning staff - i am very sorry about the lack of cleanliness you experienced. This is definitely unacceptable as we pride ourselves on delivering clean hygienic and fresh rooms to all guests on a daily basis. Housekeeping will receive warnings and further training will be implemented.

Thank you for making me aware of these issues and we will definitely take all your concerns to further investigations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel in a very interesting part of Cape Town. Everything about the interiors; decor, cleanliness and overall comfort was 10/10. Atmosphere around the hotel and nearby restaurants was tourist friendly which made us feel very safe. Absolutely loved the idea of using the R70(?) vouchers each morning to put towards our breakfast. Kned Bakery on Kloof Street deserves a standing ovation for the quality of their food. WARNING: jerry's burger bar service was a big disappointment, waited more than 40 minutes for breakfast, didn't even receive an apology when left to the airport with empty stomachs. It's an okay place to get a few drinks later in the evening but mornings staff - very disappointing.
Overall experience in Hippo Boutique 10/10.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank klaudia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience.

I am happy to hear that your liked the image and feel of our Hotel and enjoyed the comforts of your room. Thank you for the positive response regarding our breakfast variety with the R90 per person limits which is definitely more than enough :-)
Knead Bakery is a very popular choice amongst our guests with their wide variety of menu and food- and i will happily report to them your feedback!
I have informed the Manager of Jerry's regarding your concern, as it is highly unacceptable, and needs to be attended to as this cannot happen again. So on behalf of Jerry's I would like to apologize for your experience with them that morning.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Great place overall to stay. Our room very large, cool decor and quiet as a mouse. Th hotel is in an excellent location near good eating spots, and we enjoyed our breakfasts around the corner. Close to sights. Free parking. Excellent service. Amazing value overall.

Room Tip: room 106 was totally quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chipchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel.

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
847 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 460 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 172 - R2 665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing