We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$136
US$116
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$183
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$149
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$856
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
192
169
52
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
169
52
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetbreakfast vouchersgreat locationrestaurants downstairstable mountainkitchenette arealong streetsmall kitchenchoice of restaurantsoff street parkinglarge roomyour doorstepsecure parkingwithin walking distancerooms are moderngreat rooma great stay
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The room was nice, clean and well appointed. The bathroom with heated floor and a sweet shower was well appreciated after spending time in the bush. Below the hotel there are convenient restaurants, though Kloof and Long streets are nearby and offer plenty of options. Best to watch yourself walking any side streets at night for risk of getting harassed or mugged...though daytime is totally safe bear this centrally located hotel. Company gardens are a short walk away, table mountain a short über ride, and other sites all easily accessed.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
3  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Good Day,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for giving positive feedback regarding our spacious rooms and the central location with the variety of restaurants.

Yes, at night time it is important to take extra caution when walking around the area, but as you mentioned also very safe during the day.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The location is very nice near Longstreet (centre) and lots of restaurants, most of the staff are friendly en helpfull. The room at the left side of the building was quite annoying due to the noise of the cars passing by and the noise of the restaurant guests. In addition, a rebuilding took place at the time of our stay, also in the building next to the hotel. This noise was loud and lasted a few days. It would have been highly appreciated and polite if guests that are staying and/or would like to stay had been informed about this extra nuisance. The tvs are very outdated, HD view quality tvs are essential. The fridge which is a metre from the bed, made a lot of noise. The cleaning lady mostly didn't clean the whole room, you had to ask for the floor to get mobed and the sheets to get changed. The windows were dirty as well. The electricity fel out 3 times. Eventually we asked for another less noisy room, which we got. 3* sure, but not yet 4*. Would go back but only if i got a nice deal again, but wouldn't pay the regular price (website).

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the location and complimenting our friendly staff on being helpful.

I am terribly sorry to hear about the nuisance of the noise that was coming from the building next door - i truly apologize as not even I was aware that there was construction taking place, for then i would have definitely informed guests.
As to the noise from the Restaurants, the Hotel is busy implementing ways to eliminate and reduce the noise - as we have already placed the soundproof doors between the corridors and reception to reduce the sound travelling up the stairs and down the passages ( these doors are new ) as well as some of the front rooms have already received double glazing and the rest is still in progress.
We apologize that the television was not up to standard - some of the rooms have brand new tv's but not all of them yet (also still a work in progress).

As to our cleaning staff - i am very sorry about the lack of cleanliness you experienced. This is definitely unacceptable as we pride ourselves on delivering clean hygienic and fresh rooms to all guests on a daily basis. Housekeeping will receive warnings and further training will be implemented.

Thank you for making me aware of these issues and we will definitely take all your concerns to further investigations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel in a very interesting part of Cape Town. Everything about the interiors; decor, cleanliness and overall comfort was 10/10. Atmosphere around the hotel and nearby restaurants was tourist friendly which made us feel very safe. Absolutely loved the idea of using the R70(?) vouchers each morning to put towards our breakfast. Kned Bakery on Kloof Street deserves a standing ovation for the quality of their food. WARNING: jerry's burger bar service was a big disappointment, waited more than 40 minutes for breakfast, didn't even receive an apology when left to the airport with empty stomachs. It's an okay place to get a few drinks later in the evening but mornings staff - very disappointing.
Overall experience in Hippo Boutique 10/10.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank klaudia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience.

I am happy to hear that your liked the image and feel of our Hotel and enjoyed the comforts of your room. Thank you for the positive response regarding our breakfast variety with the R90 per person limits which is definitely more than enough :-)
Knead Bakery is a very popular choice amongst our guests with their wide variety of menu and food- and i will happily report to them your feedback!
I have informed the Manager of Jerry's regarding your concern, as it is highly unacceptable, and needs to be attended to as this cannot happen again. So on behalf of Jerry's I would like to apologize for your experience with them that morning.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Great place overall to stay. Our room very large, cool decor and quiet as a mouse. Th hotel is in an excellent location near good eating spots, and we enjoyed our breakfasts around the corner. Close to sights. Free parking. Excellent service. Amazing value overall.

Room Tip: room 106 was totally quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chipchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel.

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

This is a trendy hotel situated in the "hip area" of Cape Town. The receptionists (moline and Schwarz) were so helpful in getting my boarding passes and planning the whole itinerary. They'll also arrange taxis so in the end we didn't hire a car. Although if you ask me, Cape Town is pretty walkable in the day at least.
The decor is cool. I particularly liked the dimming features and the kitchenette. We were unfortunately staying on the first floor just above the party area- but thankfully all had earplugs from the plane- so managed to sleep well.
You get a choice of five places for breakfast. I only went to knead and Jerrys- the latter being my preference given its practically in the hotel.
Overall, good hotel- just try to insist on staying above the first floor or in the rooms not facing the street. Otherwise use earplugs :)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We have started with our double glazing with regards to the noise from the restaurants and appreciate your honest feedback.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews