We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #56 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Modern, spacious rooms and helpful, friendly staff. The breakfast vouchers for the surrounding restaurants are generous and you can order in from several surrounding restaurants. Free parking is a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tulaneanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience here at Hippo Boutique hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, the area with all the variety of restaurants, as well as our breakfast option setup.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Carin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

This is a great little hotel, with a helpful staff and very nice rooms. It is within walking distance of main streets and sites as well as public transport. There are many nice restaurants nearby with a wide range of food.

They arranged airport transport and were helpful about navigating the city. The hotel was a good value for the price.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Loved everything about this place! It is within walking distance to coffee shops, bars, and restaurants. The rooms are great! Spacious, quiet, modern, and clean! Breakfast vouchers for local breakfast spots are included in rate. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Front Office Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Good Day Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our establishment. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the comforts of your room, as well as the local restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Have a lovely day.

Carin Classen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our South Africa vacation - what a great finish! The hotel is well located near public transport and a variety of restaurants - our favorite breakfast spot was Knead (good value covered by our hotel voucher). Cindy, Karen and Moline were all great at the front desk and help us promptly with our questions and needs. The room was spacious, and comfortable. Go to Nelson's Eye nearby for dinner - ask for Franz

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments pertaining to your recent stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at Hippo Boutique Hotel and the welcoming service offered, met your expectations. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon when your travels next bring you to Cape Town.
Kind Regards,
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Hippo was a chance booking for the first 3 nights of our stay in Cape Town. We went to stellenbosch and franschoek for 2 days and decided to return to Cape Town. We immediately booked back at Hippo hotel since we had such a great experience. We are on our way to namibia in 2 days and couldn't wish a better place to end our trip in South Africa.

The maid service was amazing and the staff was absolutely delightful. The hotel is centrally located and the best breakfast we had was at Knead just around the corner, which is one of the 5 restaurants you have option of free breakfast at.


Definitely suggest this. Just make sure to avoid the rooms in the front if you don't want to have noisy drunk people outside your window.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mfrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our spacious rooms, spoilt choices of restaurants for breakfast and excellent location.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!


Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
240 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 407 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 354 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 086 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 314 - R 2 839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing