We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cactusberry Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$134
US$114
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$107
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$800
US$743
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$277
US$248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
101
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelping us planlate flightwalking distancebreakfastaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Although I was just invited for a free breakfast there, I was most impressed by the friendliness of manager- and staff. I spend a good few hours there enjoying the inner courtyard and was impressed by their clean, up-to-scratch rooms. They are in walking distance of the Gardens Shopping Centre and center town is also not too far away. I would recommend them to especially self-drives!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

After booking this stay I had emails from Barbara about our arrival long before we came. We had a late flight into Cape Town and wouldn't arrive until 10pm. Barbara arranged to be there to greet us and made us very welcome. She showed us how the gates worked and gave us a quick tour of the house before we all retired for bed. The room was very comfortable and clean. The air con very efficient. Breakfast was outside on the terrace and excellent. I had informed Barbara that my husband was coeliac and she had found some excellent gluten free for him. The breakfast was cooked to order and very good. Barbara was extremely helpful in helping us plan our days, advising us where to catch the bus and what to see. I would definitely go back. Thank you for a wonderful few days. I highly recommend Cactusberry Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mama45s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Barbara and her team were so fantastic .
We did not arrive in Cape Town until after 6 pm but i had emailed Barabara the owner a couple of days before to let her estimate time of arrival.The house is so beautiful, large rooms , wooden floors .
We stayed in Room 6 all rooms are ensuit.
Breakfasts are amazing chooses include cereal, various cold meats, cheeses and fabulous choices of cooked breakfast from their menu range.
Anna looked after us whilst we stayed here, she helped with booking the cable car .Nothing was too much trouble .They provide a laundry service .Definitely a brilliant place to stop.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

You can't go wrong with a stay at Cactusberry Lodge. It is centrally located in Cape Town with easy access to buses and to highways for driving. Since it's central, taxi fare home from the waterfront wasn't even very expensive. There are nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Barbara will take the time to go over your daily plans and map out a route for you. The whole place is beautifully decorated with art. Our room was spacious and there are lovely sitting areas outside on a patio and inside. Breakfast was great -- the only problem with it was trying not to gain weight. Next to "hospitality" in the dictionary there should be a picture of Cactusberry!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2fromsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

When I had relatives visiting Cape Town, I trusted innkeeper Barbara to host them. She was ultra-responsive and accommodating by email, and her kindness continued in person. Barbara adjusted her schedule to be present for our arrivals and departures, often helped carry our extensive luggage, and let us leave our suitcases in-room while we traveled the Garden Route for the weekend. Loved the stylish, minimalist decor and the photos taken by Barbara's husband, Guido. Can't recommend them enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews