We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, friendly service and accomodation!”
Review of Cactusberry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cactusberry Lodge
Ranked #65 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Although I was just invited for a free breakfast there, I was most impressed by the friendliness of manager- and staff. I spend a good few hours there enjoying the inner courtyard and was impressed by their clean, up-to-scratch rooms. They are in walking distance of the Gardens Shopping Centre and center town is also not too far away. I would recommend them to especially self-drives!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

After booking this stay I had emails from Barbara about our arrival long before we came. We had a late flight into Cape Town and wouldn't arrive until 10pm. Barbara arranged to be there to greet us and made us very welcome. She showed us how the gates worked and gave us a quick tour of the house before we all retired for bed. The room was very comfortable and clean. The air con very efficient. Breakfast was outside on the terrace and excellent. I had informed Barbara that my husband was coeliac and she had found some excellent gluten free for him. The breakfast was cooked to order and very good. Barbara was extremely helpful in helping us plan our days, advising us where to catch the bus and what to see. I would definitely go back. Thank you for a wonderful few days. I highly recommend Cactusberry Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mama45s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Barbara and her team were so fantastic .
We did not arrive in Cape Town until after 6 pm but i had emailed Barabara the owner a couple of days before to let her estimate time of arrival.The house is so beautiful, large rooms , wooden floors .
We stayed in Room 6 all rooms are ensuit.
Breakfasts are amazing chooses include cereal, various cold meats, cheeses and fabulous choices of cooked breakfast from their menu range.
Anna looked after us whilst we stayed here, she helped with booking the cable car .Nothing was too much trouble .They provide a laundry service .Definitely a brilliant place to stop.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

You can't go wrong with a stay at Cactusberry Lodge. It is centrally located in Cape Town with easy access to buses and to highways for driving. Since it's central, taxi fare home from the waterfront wasn't even very expensive. There are nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Barbara will take the time to go over your daily plans and map out a route for you. The whole place is beautifully decorated with art. Our room was spacious and there are lovely sitting areas outside on a patio and inside. Breakfast was great -- the only problem with it was trying not to gain weight. Next to "hospitality" in the dictionary there should be a picture of Cactusberry!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2fromsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

When I had relatives visiting Cape Town, I trusted innkeeper Barbara to host them. She was ultra-responsive and accommodating by email, and her kindness continued in person. Barbara adjusted her schedule to be present for our arrivals and departures, often helped carry our extensive luggage, and let us leave our suitcases in-room while we traveled the Garden Route for the weekend. Loved the stylish, minimalist decor and the photos taken by Barbara's husband, Guido. Can't recommend them enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
189 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#42 of 156 in Cape Town Central
61 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Lezard Bleu
Lezard Bleu
#34 of 156 in Cape Town Central
205 reviews
City Bowl
Tom's Guest House
Tom's Guest House
#22 of 156 in Cape Town Central
317 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactusberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactusberry Lodge

Address: Bredastreet 30 | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 537 - R 1 760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cactusberry Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 Star guesthouse, quietly but centrally situated in leafy Oranjezicht, 200m from the Gardens Shopping Centre and 10-15 mins walk to Green Market Sq, Long Str. and the CBD. All our rooms are en suite with fans/heating, coffee/tea facilities, fridges, some with kitchnette or private patio. We also have off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cactusberry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing