We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nelson h
Zaventem, Belgium

Alta bay was great!

Review of Alta Bay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Feb 2021
Our standard room in the bottom garden has a very jungle-like feel. You can even hear the owls and the different birds in the trees. No sea or city views from our garden room as you have green all around you. Yet, you are within walking distance of restaurants. From the pool area, you have views of Devils Peak which is nice when having sundowners. Uber is easily accessible from this guest house and anywhere else in the city. It’s convenient that they have a guest bathroom available to have a shower before late flights. We want to thank the entire staff for a wonderful time. To summarize, our stay was comfortable from start to finish and will live long in the memory. Thank you. We can't wait to visit again!
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 089
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Alta Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 6 020
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Alta Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 902
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from Alta Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    R 2 893
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 744
2.2 km from Alta Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 077
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Alta Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 702
  • Algotels
3.6 km from Alta Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 250
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 209
3.5 km from Alta Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    R 867
  • Booking.com
3.4 km from Alta Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
347
53
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
347
53
1
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2020

I had an amazing and relaxing stay at Stephan and Beulah's place. The studio is immaculate and very comfortable with everything you need. Refreshing jump in little private pool in the morning is so unique let alone the nature and well-maintained garden which is like an oasis of peace.
The hosts are very helpful and friendly and I will definitely come back on my next visit to Cape Town.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SylviePhil63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2019

We had a wonderful time at the wonderful hotel Alta Bay. It is situated in a lovely neighbourhood, with behind the facade beautiful rooms with magnificent views in an almost magical green garden. The helpfulness and tips for sightseeing from the lovely hosts made our holiday in Capetown complete! Highly recommended :-) 

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anoushka a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2019

We spent the weekend here, and loved it. Alta Bay is family owned and run, and the owners and their daughter welcomed us warmly. They were very knowledgeable about the area, and are fluent in several languages. We stayed in the Bay Suite, which has a private deck above some lemon trees, affording city, sea and mountain views – the perfect place for morning coffee. The bed, bathroom, furnishings, filter coffee, WiFi etc. were all first class. The garden is beautifully maintained and has an African forest/jungle feel. Water is managed in an environmentally conscious way, and is re-used to water the garden. I would happily recommend this establishment to couples, families with children of school going age and older, business and solo travelers.

Room tip: The Bay Suite has good views and is just one level up from the pool. It opens onto a lovely outside area.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col_coldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

Alta Bay Guest House is a real gem. The rooms, built on the slopes of Table Mountain, are surrounded by beautiful big trees and flowering forest plants. There are numerous hidden seating areas around the cascading garden, connected by wooden stairs. There is also a charming little swimming pool.
The rooms are well equipped, luxurious and tastefully decorated.
While the guest house is close to the Cape Town city centre and beaches, it is completely tranquil and the perfect place to relax.
The hosts are warm and caring. They are passionate about the environment, recycling carefully and using water sparingly.
We could not have asked for a better place to spend a long weekend.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2019

We have spent a couple of days at Alta Bay in The Loft. A warm welcome was reserved by the owner Stephan with a lot of nice tips in the close area, which we appreciated very much. Spacious,clean and tidy room wit all the necessary facilities mad it complete. Last but not least, what a view on the city centre!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews