We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sky bar? For guest?”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village Lodge
Ranked #109 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

Really???? Half the size as before. And they now have a roof that cover the smal area!!! Really bad. If you want to relax in the sun, forget it! There is NO way to relax up there :(
We have been here for three days now, and the last two days, the rooftop bar have been closed due to privat parties. Really - so paying guest can't use the hotel facilities?
Well, does it really matters? We only have a few days left - then we move in to a real hotel!
My tip: don't leave your money here!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Doffen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2015

The only thing that remains untouched is the beauty of the location, all the rest I am sorry to say that has became worse. Unfriendliness, no mainteinance, dirt, old and faulty AC and tv and loud music from the Sky bar which makes difficult to sleep. This time I also some money stolen from the safe deposit in my room.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Filippo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2014

I cannot say anything about the accommodation, but visited the sky bar (different proprietor!) for its beautiful location only to leave in tears since my friends were so badly treated because of their skin colour, so I wish people will bar it (no pun intended) until they change their policy (or staff?).

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Katrienkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Location, Location, Location

On street parking can be hit and miss but there is a parking garage around the corner.

Rooms are small, pool on the roof can be crowed. Magnificent views of the mountain from the roof.

New Year’s night residents were expected to pay to use the roof terrace. Bit of a check but it is independently run.

Hotel is compact so can be very noisy. Make no difference if you have street or court yard facing windows.

If you think you be able to sleep late this is not the place to stay.

Rooms are clean and serviced daily.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Werner P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

I had stayed here 5 days for conference, the price was the best in the city, the room was nice and staffs were friendly. I didn't experienced any bad things in this hotel. The civic center and convention center within walking distance, 15 minutes. Overall it was meet my expectations.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
Thank FerryEfendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,9 km away
Upperbloem
Upperbloem
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
310 reviews
0,1 km away
De Waterkant Village
De Waterkant Village
#102 of 112 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
3,3 km away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#107 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,7 km away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
1,3 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
0,8 km away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#104 of 112 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 770 - R 1 878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing