We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Village Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$787
US$747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
23
23
7
13
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
23
7
13
39
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2014

I cannot say anything about the accommodation, but visited the sky bar (different proprietor!) for its beautiful location only to leave in tears since my friends were so badly treated because of their skin colour, so I wish people will bar it (no pun intended) until they change their policy (or staff?).

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Katrienkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Location, Location, Location

On street parking can be hit and miss but there is a parking garage around the corner.

Rooms are small, pool on the roof can be crowed. Magnificent views of the mountain from the roof.

New Year’s night residents were expected to pay to use the roof terrace. Bit of a check but it is independently run.

Hotel is compact so can be very noisy. Make no difference if you have street or court yard facing windows.

If you think you be able to sleep late this is not the place to stay.

Rooms are clean and serviced daily.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Werner P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

I had stayed here 5 days for conference, the price was the best in the city, the room was nice and staffs were friendly. I didn't experienced any bad things in this hotel. The civic center and convention center within walking distance, 15 minutes. Overall it was meet my expectations.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
Thank FerryEfendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

The building is shared by three different businesses, and clients have to bear the brunt of their owners' professional jealousies. Helpful staff are negated by rude managers, so be prepared for that. Ensure everything is in writing as verbal negotiations will be denied later. Unless you are back-packing across town, rather find another spot to stay. You'll leave feeling infuriated and robbed, either of your money or a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Do not agree to a 'single' room - these are glorified servant's quarters.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I find the De Waterkant neighbourhood in Cape Town fascinating: vibrant, unusual, trendy. We have walked past The Village Lodge Guest House a couple of times. You enter the guest house through a small restaurant. Previously it was a Thai restaurant called Soho. Now, after an exterior makeover, the restaurant is called Kos. This could either refer to a Greek island or to the Afrikaans word for food. In this context, I thought the last option to be more fitting.
We opted for the curry. I ordered the lamb curry and my wife asked whether they perhaps have a chicken curry. It was not on the menu, but the waitron came back to say, no problem, they do have chicken curry.
After some time of enjoying our Leopard’s Leap Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot, our curry arrived. It was beautifully presented: a small bowl with the curry, a salad and some rice. I usually do not complain about portion size, but this was small! Mine was sort of, in a middle of the road way, presentable. But then my wife tried to eat hers! A whole, tough (probable microwaved) chicken thigh in a curry sauce! It was the worst dish that had ever been presented to us in a restaurant! In the end they did not charge for it. As this was a public holiday, maybe one of the kitchen cleaners was on chef’s duty.
They did apologise. The waitron was very friendly and helpful. But in the end, not nearly good enough. And maybe some lesson learnt for the future: Never trust an empty restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews