We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protea Hotel North Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #58 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This well positioned hotel is located about 20 min walk from the Waterfront. The hotel itself has a nice modern appearance, with full sized courtyard located so you don't get a "locked in by other buildings" feel. The views from the rooms are limited, but gaps can show the harbor and other landmarks like table top mountain park. Still the surrounding buildings tower over this 8 story hotel. A large courtyard, and another hotel next door, give the surroundings for this hotel spacious, you are not butting another building. The security was great, and found it easy to walk anywhere near the hotel with no security; seems safe. The front desk exceptional in helping to pick the rooms, and other concierge services - while check-in was easy. The hotel rooms look great furnished, and spacious, the restaurant in the lobby provides food during the day. the lobby itself seats about 8 people, but the open concept restaurant allows for more in the lobby area. While not many restaurants within 1 block, Marriot has a ($60 rand) shuttle. We found most taxis charged 50 Rand to Waterfront and front-desk had a cab while we exited our room. The Waterfront has many restaurants, stores, food courts, and malls/forums - some might say it's the highlight area of Cape town. Most of the tours leave from the Waterfront too. The staff is perfection from the bell staff, front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant helpers. All pools in South Africa closed due to draught, this hotel too. Refrigerators in the room helpful, and 1GB data Internet coupons can be renewed for free at front desk. These limits typical over South Africa, most hotels give 500MB a day! The breakfast buffet was great, lots of variety, fruits, and breakfast rolls, best part of eating all day. The restaurant also had a limited daytime menu, and I found their style of cooking not to my liking. The beds were comfortable, refrigerator in the room and housekeeping works hard. If you can afford it, the 2-3 bedroom penthouse rooms are worth the extra cost, and maybe the best suites from any other hotels on this side of Cape Town. Would definitely return there again.

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite was large, with washer/dryer, living room, and kitchen. Great for 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnV39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zee I, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear John,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Have a fantastic 2018!

Sincerely,
ZEE ISMAIL
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
zee.ismail@proteahotels.com
+27214334600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

My daughter and I stayed here 2 nights, it was simply perfect. The staff, beds, breakfast all 5 Star. Seeing Kholiswa’s smiling face each day was a blessin, such a guanine and sincere host. Do not hesitate to book at this property, the location is a perfect walk to Long Street, the staff SUPER!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank daisy20071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We had booked the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf for our last night in Cape Town. The Hotel is centrally located and just about 25-30 minutes away from the airport.
We had a nice corner apartment in the 6th floor. It was really big, which we didn't expect at all. Livingroom, couch, TV, fully equipped kitchen, roomy bathroom (shower and tub) and separate bedroom with a big and comfy bed.
The staff at check-in/out, breakfast was really friendly.
Breakfast was good. Buffet style from hot and cold, sweet and salty, so plenty to eat.
Private car parking is available at the underground parking garage with a direct access to the Hotel by staircase or lifts.
Rooftop pool for a relaxing dip.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerbell111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I had such high expectations for this hotel but I am sad to say that I was very disappointed. We are a family of 4, my husband is permanently in a wheelchair, we therefore required a wheelchair accessible room, which the North Wharf offers. I also have a 9 year old and a 1 year old so the universal access room with the separate bedroom, fold out sleeper couch and space for a camp cot seemed ideal !! I was so excited to have found what seemed like the perfect room. I booked and paid for this reservation a little over SIX months in advance and called the hotel about 10 days prior to our arrival to ensure that all was in order, which I was assured it was.

On arrival at the hotel we were informed that the universal accessible room had been allocated to other guests the night before !? How could this have happened when we had a confirmed reservation for the ONLY wheelchair accessible room ? We were informed that they would try to reach the guests telephonically to request that they transfer to another room ! We were allocated another room while we waited for just over six hours before we could move to our booked and confirmed room. NOT a good way to begin a holiday especially with a tired infant. The room itself was large and comfortable and did meet all our needs except for the kitchen area which in our opinion is not wheelchair friendly as it is so narrow. When my husband was in the kitchen area between the two counters he was not able to open the draws on cupboards on either side ! .The other aspect that he found difficult was the weight of the door leading into the room which is very heavy for someone in a wheelchair and he required help most of the time. This is not helpful to the self esteem of a wheelchair user who wants to be as self sufficient as possible.

Overall the impression that I formed during our stay was that of one of distinct lack of attention to detail from there being no room service menu in our room, to our tissues not being replaced when they were finished, to our in room crockery and cutlery never been increased from the standard set of 2 to 3.

We were hoping to spend some time at the hotel pool but I have to say that it is a very unwelcoming area which looks like it doesn't see many guests at all and is certainly not a feature of the hotel. We actually went next door to another hotel and used their pool which was sparkly clean and inviting.

We did however find the staff at the hotel to be very friendly and always happy to assist when asked.

After our stay I received a customer satisfaction survey via e-mail to which I replied with all of this and more and now 2 weeks later I still have not received any response from the hotel whatsoever. yet another indication of their indifference.

The hotel is well located and has much to offer such a pity that it did not live up to our expectations and quite honestly really spoilt our once a year family holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Reception of this hotel is dated and unimpressive. I was mentally writing the letter of complaint to my travel agent when the room became available. Well the rooms are a huge surprise - large with lots of amenities and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast is reasonable but nothing special to write about. Hotel is very convenient for the hop on hop off bus. Reception are helpful and uber drivers have no problem finding the hotel. Its a bit out of the way for the V&A waterfront

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Smith-Rashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 806 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 076 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 320 reviews
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 433 - R4 669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing