We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hip Icon Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capetonian Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
186
149
26
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
149
26
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryerfull kitchenapartment styleconvention centerliving roomfully fitted kitchenlong streetroom serviceattending a conferencehuge roomrooftop poolapartment hotelone bedroom apartmentunderground parkingfront desk staffminute walksafe walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had an apartment room and really enjoyed having the extra space of a living room and kitchenette. The bedroom itself was large with a comfortable bed and good cupboard space. We did not have a view of the sea or mountain but the extra space and the price we paid made it all worthwhile. The hotel is also very conveniently located .

Room Tip: Recommend the apartment style rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CherylJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear CherylJ123

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor!
Glad you enjoyed the extra space and the convenient location!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

A group of work Colleagues and I stayed here one night for a weekend in Cape Town. We had 3 apartments, but I stayed in the largest, which I think was a penthouse, with 3 bedrooms, 2 with ensuite and another bathroom and a huge Kitchen and lounge/dining room. the other two apartments had less bedrooms, but were still large. The hotel was conveniently located and we, as a group, walked down to cafes in Long St and drove/ubered to the V&A Waterfront, which was pretty nearby. Was also a fairly short drive from Table Mountain/Lion's Head. We were a little annoyed that when we checked in, we were told that the rate for our room, wasn't per night, but per head, but we only said 1 person then and they knew we had more in the apartment, but luckily ignored it. It has underground parking, which was very reasonably priced, like about AUD5 overnight. There was a pool, but it was too cold as we were in mid winter. WE had a beer at the bar, but didn't eat there, but 3 of us ate at a lovely Turkish restaurant almost opposite the hotel's front door. Not the newest of hotels, but well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank em_be53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear em_be53

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your compliments to the location and room size. Also good to hear that you explored the restaurants nearby.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer months.

Best regards,

Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We loved the accommodations at this apartment hotel. It was very clean and nicely appointed. The staff was nice. They were unable to exchange money for us which is unusual compared to our other stays at Marriott hotels. Still a great place to stay when attending a convention in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cntrychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Cntrychica,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate your compliments and apologize that we were not able to assist with your foreign exchange at the time.

Best regards,
Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We were very happy with this hotel. The rooms are all apartment style with a living room, bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom. We purposely picked this hotel because of the washer/dryer in the room, which came in handy as we did several loads of laundry (the front desk has detergent to buy). We personally liked the location of the hotel as it was between the Wharf and the hip areas of Bo-Kaap and Bree Street. There are several restaurants and coffee shops within a block or two of the restaurant for those that don't want to wander too far. Because the hotel is off a small street and mostly faces a courtyard, there isn't much traffic noise, which was great for sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiffany303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Tiffany303

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,
Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this location for 7 nights and it is perfect because it is set up in an apartment style. Although, I did not cook during my stay, I appreciated the fridge and microwave for my leftovers. The room was very spacious and the bed was comfy. I did not really care for the furnishing. I think Marriott will be due to upgrade the lacquer furnishing and the overall cheap furnishing. The room was cleaned immaculately daily. The towels and wash clothes were dingy and not white(I know that sounds picky but I'm not use to hotel towels being clean but looking dirty). The front desk staff, Vanessa and the bar staff were excellent. Greeting us every time we entered the door and helping us with reservations and other booking information. The hotel is located in an excellent location. It's near everything you need. Finally, the only reason this is not 4 or 5 stars is due to the total frustration with wifi. The wifi started off fine and then we were given tickets to enter a code that only worked temporary. It was hard to call uber and it was very difficult to send and receive emails and text messages. This need to be changed immediately.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Paula C

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. I take great pleasure in being able to pass on the commendation to Vanessa and the rest of the bar STAFF.

It is a great pity that the change in system caused a poor Wi-Fi experience for you during your stay and we apologize for this.

Best regards,

Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews