We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
188
152
27
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
152
27
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryerfull kitchenapartment styleconvention centerliving roomlong streetattending a conferencerooftop poolapartment hotelunderground parkingfront desk staffwalking distanceminute walksafe walkper daystayed here for a weekcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I recently stayed at the Protea hotel North Wharf for a week, the hotel is clean and ideally located. I was on a business trip and the hotel was a 10 minute walk to the office which worked out great. The rooms are actually apartments, with a fully equipped kitchen, lounge area,dinning area that opened up to a balcony and a big bedroom. The bathroom was just as spacious. The service was great however the food at the hotel is delicious a bit expensive, I suggest trying out the local restaurants and shops close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper levels for a better view of the Mountain
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Dear Isha M

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review and to share your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and you will be happy to know that we are busy reviewing our menu offering. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel North Wharf again soon

Kind regards,
Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel last week during our first trip to Cape Town. We didn't get a hotel room, we got an apartment! It even had a washer/dryer which we were so happy about since we had spent time camping in Botswana and really need to wash some clothes!
The location was great and close to the waterfront. Breakfast was very good and varied and we thought the staff was first rate. We really appreciated Lorenzo. If we ever come back to Cape Town, we will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank activitygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Dear activitygirl32

Wonderful that you chose to stay with us in Cape Town.
(And that we could assist in you taking care of some dirty laundry.)
I will be my pleasure to share your commendation of Lorenzo and the rest of the STAFF!
They are indeed First Rate.

It would be great to have you back with us when you are next in beautiful Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

I stayed here for a conference a few weeks ago - it was great. You don't just get a big bedroom you get a lounge, a dining area, a kitchen with full amenities and a bathroom! Oh and a balcony. Can't fault the room - although do bring a South African adaptor for the plugs with you - otherwise you are limited to using the European shaving outlet in the bathroom! Strong free wifi and good level of heating in my room. Fairly small hotel and very quiet.

Breakfast was decent but wouldn't blow you away. The rooftop pool was small but looked nice if you would be staying there in summer. Staff were helpful and let me keep my bags there. It's a very central location - 3 mins walk from the Westin conference centre and about 15 minutes from long street. Gym (I didn't use) is basic and in the underground car park. Area felt fairly safe although I wouldn't walk alone there too late at night on my own. But the two big sells of this hotel are definitely the size of the rooms and the location!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachelBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear RachelBL

Thank you for your detailed review, we appreciate all your comments made!
You are correct, the hotel does enjoy great location as well as generosity in room size.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Summer time!

Kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We stayed at Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront during our first visit to Cape Town in May this year. It was a pleasant and memorable experience. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, rooms are quite big, well furnished and well maintained. Parking is reasonable and well managed. The hotel restaurant does an amazing! job. We had three meals there and each of them just hit the right spot! . The gym is limited but functional, internet can do with some more speed and less interruption! Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Archie P

We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us at Protea Hotel North Wharf for your first visit exploring Cape Town!
Thank you too for your kind comments.

Glad we could add to your happy memories!

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

I was in Cape Town on business and chose this hotel for it's accessibility to the waterfront and the city centre. The Victoria and Alfred area of the waterfront is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The rooms are large clean and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the light and modern restaurant was excellent from breakfast through to dinner (and room service).
I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with others, consider booking the two bedroom apartments. These are large apartments and it works out cheaper per person.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCh908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear KCh908

So glad that we were able to be your 'home-away-from-home' whilst you were in Cape Town!
Thank you for your kind compliments and review.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews