We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business travelers ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #61 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times. It is spectacularly good for business travelers. Depending on which side of the hotel your room is on, and the floor, views are quite good. Rooms are huge!! More of an apartment than anything else. Breakfast is buffet and quite reasonable. There are a few restaurants close by for dinner options. Staff are awesome!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Dear Johan S

Love your salutation Great for business travelers!
Thank you so much for your recent review and happy to read that your travels have brought you to Cape Town again!
Your compliments are valued and we certainly appreciate the commendations to the STAFF.

Kind regards,
Leigh

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2015

I recently stayed at the Protea hotel North Wharf for a week, the hotel is clean and ideally located. I was on a business trip and the hotel was a 10 minute walk to the office which worked out great. The rooms are actually apartments, with a fully equipped kitchen, lounge area,dinning area that opened up to a balcony and a big bedroom. The bathroom was just as spacious. The service was great however the food at the hotel is delicious a bit expensive, I suggest trying out the local restaurants and shops close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper levels for a better view of the Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Dear Isha M

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review and to share your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and you will be happy to know that we are busy reviewing our menu offering. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel North Wharf again soon

Kind regards,
Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel last week during our first trip to Cape Town. We didn't get a hotel room, we got an apartment! It even had a washer/dryer which we were so happy about since we had spent time camping in Botswana and really need to wash some clothes!
The location was great and close to the waterfront. Breakfast was very good and varied and we thought the staff was first rate. We really appreciated Lorenzo. If we ever come back to Cape Town, we will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank activitygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Dear activitygirl32

Wonderful that you chose to stay with us in Cape Town.
(And that we could assist in you taking care of some dirty laundry.)
I will be my pleasure to share your commendation of Lorenzo and the rest of the STAFF!
They are indeed First Rate.

It would be great to have you back with us when you are next in beautiful Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

I stayed here for a conference a few weeks ago - it was great. You don't just get a big bedroom you get a lounge, a dining area, a kitchen with full amenities and a bathroom! Oh and a balcony. Can't fault the room - although do bring a South African adaptor for the plugs with you - otherwise you are limited to using the European shaving outlet in the bathroom! Strong free wifi and good level of heating in my room. Fairly small hotel and very quiet.

Breakfast was decent but wouldn't blow you away. The rooftop pool was small but looked nice if you would be staying there in summer. Staff were helpful and let me keep my bags there. It's a very central location - 3 mins walk from the Westin conference centre and about 15 minutes from long street. Gym (I didn't use) is basic and in the underground car park. Area felt fairly safe although I wouldn't walk alone there too late at night on my own. But the two big sells of this hotel are definitely the size of the rooms and the location!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachelBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear RachelBL

Thank you for your detailed review, we appreciate all your comments made!
You are correct, the hotel does enjoy great location as well as generosity in room size.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Summer time!

Kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We stayed at Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront during our first visit to Cape Town in May this year. It was a pleasant and memorable experience. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, rooms are quite big, well furnished and well maintained. Parking is reasonable and well managed. The hotel restaurant does an amazing! job. We had three meals there and each of them just hit the right spot! . The gym is limited but functional, internet can do with some more speed and less interruption! Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Archie P

We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us at Protea Hotel North Wharf for your first visit exploring Cape Town!
Thank you too for your kind comments.

Glad we could add to your happy memories!

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 089 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 834 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 408 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 349 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf

Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 186 - R 3 506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing