We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very comfortable top end accommodation with some of the best breakfasts ever.
Friendly and helpful staff .
Handily located at the foot of Table Mountain with central Capetown in walking distance.
The rooms are luxurious and well stocked.

Room Tip: The room opposite the dining area on the left is the largest.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank barryasmus0645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a tricky review in many ways. The staff here were warm and welcoming and happy to help in many ways. The property is in a nice residential area. If you do not have a car you will be getting taxis or Uber’s everywhere, such as to the waterfront and table mountain, the staff do help and get preferential uber rates which they pass onto guests, taxis are very cheap. The accomodation is acceptable but for us did not have any wow factor. The rooms were clean and comfortable although needed some tlc. The blind in the shower was broken at the top and the wardrobe doors were cheap and operated poorly. The room provided tea coffee water but after that everything was charged. On arrival it would have been nice to be offered a welcome drink water or juice and we asked if any take out food was available locally but received a really cool reply to this as if it was discouraged. The room had a tiled floor and provided bath robes but no slippers we found this odd, robe but no slippers. Breakfast was fine with options for most people. We did notice some travel company’s using this small hotel. It would have been nice to see tea and coffee in the communal lounge other than port and the 2 very small dishes of pretzels put out in the afternoon. Ultimately the hotel had the feel of a bed and breakfast for us and not a boutique hotel, the price versus value for money didn’t quite add up in our view. The pool which is very small is closed due to the drought which was fair enough. Staff were mostly helpful but on personal preference alone we wouldn’t return here, that doesn’t mean it’s not a suitable property for other travellers.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter1Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourRosmead, General Manager at Four Rosmead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review.

I have taken a look at the blind in the bathroom and we will indeed be replacing all of them. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

May I ask what you meant by "The room provided tea coffee water but after that everything was charged"? Tea & coffee in the rooms is complimentary.

My apologies that you were not offered a welcome drink. We do normally unless we ask the guests if they would prefer to go directly to their rooms if it was a long flight.

We are in fact a Guest House not a Hotel.

We don't have self service tea and coffee in the main lounge as we prefer to serve guests. All teas & coffees are complimentary day and night.

Kind Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well what can we say other than great hotel. Staff fantastic nothing is to much for them they are pleased to help with local knowledge. The hotel is in full view of table mountain fantastic place well worth the visit

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacque B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed four nights at this gem of a boutique hotel at the start of our 2 week stay. Nadine, Jade and the team were always available to offer good and helpful advice when needed or book tickets and restaurants. The hotel is in a quiet, residential area of Cape Town with Table Mountain right behind. There is not much within walking distance but that does not matter because everyone uses Uber to go everywhere anyway. We had a room upstairs with a vaulted ceiling, windows on three sides and a spacious bathroom. There was a well-stocked mini bar and lovely little touches, such as the snippets of historical information left when the beds were turned down. In the lounge, complimentary port and pretzels were always available as well as daily newspapers. Attached to the lounge an outer covered verandah overlooked a small courtyard garden laid out with sunbeds and a small splash pool (which was covered and not in use due to the water restrictions). Breakfasts were taken on the verandah. The choice was ample and of very good quality, including an excellent seeded muesli mix, individual goblets of fresh fruit and fresh avocado. Excellent bircher muesli and cooked breakfasts were available to order. Everywhere was calm, clean and tidy and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 33judes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed this beautiful boutique hotel for four nights. Our stylish room with its own little garden was stunning. The staff were incredibly helpful when organising our trips to Table Mountain and Robben Island. Breakfasts were first class , I would def recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Cape Town

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
City Bowl
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 306 - R 4 412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of ten bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing