We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guesthouse with great care ”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a guesthouse in a central suburb in a historic building. 10 rooms. Rooms are modern clean comfortable and well appointed. Garden and pool but latter not used due to a drought. Breakfast very good. All staff very helpful attentive and friendly. They make this place. The management love organising your day. I would definitely come back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank manunited45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a pretty average wedding night in a supposedly good country hotel in Sussex, this boutique hotel between Table Mountain and the heart of Cape Town has been a breath of fresh air. Beautifully appointed, great room with balcony and fantastic views. B&B only but lovely choice of hot and cold food and a rotating menu. The staff could not be more helpful and have so far given great recommendations for tours, restaurants and not to be missed sight seeing. Just lovely.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LargePinotPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Keep coming every year!
Impeccable service, genuine, friendly, lovely breakfast, great rooms very clean and superb location.
Will miss the view of Lions head !
Thank you so much!
Already looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the good fortune of spending three glorious nights at this wonderful establishment. From the moment we arrived until our departure, we experienced gracious service, beautiful accommodations, and excellent food. I can't put into words how well-managed this little gem of a hotel is. We are forever grateful to our travel agent for recommending Four Rosmead.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A couples honeymoon visit, some good some bad, but all honest.

We had booked a double bed, but were given two singles pushed together. Whilst this is a byproduct of the European market, as some European travellers like seperate beds, we do not and expect a double bed to be a double bed or with sufficient covering so as it is not noticeably two separate beds.

When we spoke to the manager who quickly and without trouble changed our room to one with a double bed. However we feel like we shouldn't have had to ask and there didn't need to be a conversation if the booking had been addressed correctly in the first place.

Cape Town is currently suffering it's worst drought in 100yrs and 4 Rosmead is doing it's bit to help by directing guests to use as little water as required. Bravo . This has led to a mop bucket being left in the shower, to aide with water collection whilst you wait for the water to warm sufficiently (great idea), and the pool cover being left on.

When we asked to use the pool it became clear that this hadn't happened in a while and that the pump/filter may have been broken as the pool/water was dirty, leading to us having a 10 minute dip in not very clean water and no further usage due to chemical treatment.

When our concerns were raised with management, they were very happy to address our concerns with a substantial 25% refund, which equates to a full nights stay.

The bed/pool concerns are high enough on our priorities to justify the rating for us.

I would however add that the service apart from this was very good and there was much help given with places to visit, best times etc. I would have given 3.5 stars, if possible, for these reasons.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonny_C_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourRosmead, General Manager at Four Rosmead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jonathan & Marie ,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

As discussed during your stay here we were not aware of your specific bed configuration. As you booked through an agent, your specific request was not relayed to us. As soon as we were aware of this we rectified it and moved you to a room with a Queen size bed. All our king size beds are 2 x ¾ beds pushed together. The agents are aware of this and should have requested a Queen size bed.

Yes, with the drought, it has become impossible for us to keep the pool open. Four Rosmead and Cape Town is under stage 5 water restrictions and we are now not allowed to fill the pool and must keep the pool cover on at all times. We were offering to take the cover off for guests so they could take a dip, but have now officially closed the pool. On the week you were here the pool company had come to install a pipe to keep the pump working as the water has dropped too low for the weir to continue to work. Unfortunately the pipe had come loose and this resulted in the pool going green. With the combined weather and the pool cover having to be kept on it is impossible to keep the pool clean and this is why we have now decided to close the pool until we receive more rain. Four Rosmead and Cape Town is in desperate need of water and there is a very high possibility that the taps will run dry by May 2018.

I am sad to see that these 2 things have justified your 3 star rating, but do understand.

I Hope you enjoyed the rest of your Honeymoon.

Kind Regards
Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 459 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 839 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 283 - R4 467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of ten bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing