We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$134
US$114
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$107
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$754
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
281
75
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
75
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarc's tableboutique hotelplunge poolsmall hotelmain roadmin walkbreakfast was includedgreat boutiquethe hotel staffrooms are largecomfy bedbeautiful hotelfelt very safecentral locationtable mountainwaterfrontgreenpoint
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We were really disappointed with the room itself, not very clean and very small compared to other hotel with the same price.
Regarding the location, it was not convenient. we had to take a taxi to reach our destination.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B9349TBphilipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Philippe,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback on your recent stay here. We regret that we did not meet your expectations which is inconsistent with what we are trying to achieve here. We have taken to heart the feedback on the aspects we have to improve on and I can assure you the next time you are in the city you will find an improved offering.
It is a pity our location did not work for you, Greenpoint is an upcoming buzzing mixed use area with various restaurant, bars, galleries etc. The suburb is just some 15 minutes' walk (4 minutes' drive) to the CBD and V&A waterfront and would ideally work for anyone that puts accessibility and centrality at the core of their stay.
We wish you the best in your travels and thank you for staying with us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We stayed at the Sugar Hotel at the end of December 2017 and on a positive note the people we came across that were working at the hotel were extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. They cannot be faulted. There is nothing specifically wrong with the hotel itself other than the room was small and because of this so was the bed. I am just 6ft tall, on a good day, but the bed was too short for me and my feet were hanging outside of the bed. If you are over 6ft then it may be a little uncomfortable. What let's this hotel down is the price you pay for what you get. We stayed at 6 places over our 2 weeks in the area and this was by far the most expensive.There are much better places for a lot less in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first. The one I had, with an unusable plunge pool, was very small.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awslufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Awslufc,

Thank you for the valuable feedback. We appreciate that Team Sugar went all out and stuck to our highly regarded ethos of friendliness, professionalism and helpfulness. At this hotel we use standard beds, our entry level rooms i.e. the Deluxe Queen (Ground Floor) and The Deluxe Double rooms have the queen and double beds respectively. In contrast our higher category Deluxe King and Superior King rooms come with the impressive extra width king beds for the traveler that enjoys the extra bed space and they come highly recommended as may be noted in the reviews of fellow travelers on these pages.
We would like to host you in one of these higher category rooms in future. We wish you the best in your travels.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel has the best customer service i have ever experienced. The food is also fantastic and the rooms are very comfortable. Position is also great. I will always stay here for work and play.

I managed to meet the owners and management who were super friendly and helpful. The price is also very competitive, must stay hotel!! Love it

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations.
We look forward to having you here on your future stays to create more memorable experiences.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We stayed the first week of November for 3 nights at Sugar hotel. The staff was very welcoming. We were in a room with the pool on the deck. The room was very well done, it was quiet. We had dinner one night at the restaurant, would highly recommend. It was great food. Good menu as well for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Liz B
Thank you for the valuable feedback you have given regarding your recent stay here. It gives us great pleasure that you found the property meeting your expectations of a boutique hotel as per our wish to provide a world class service and products to delight our Guests.
We thank you for staying with us and wish you the best in your travels hoping they bring you to our doorstep and we get to host you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
92
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Had a fabulous time staff were very helpful,Rooms contemporary finished to a high standard.Breakfast and dinner on the decking was excellent. Surprised few people had commented how good dinner was prior to our arrival.Out and about was easy being only 15 mins walk from V&A dock area a must visit......thanks to all for making our visit memorable for all the right reason.Thanks To ALL at Sugar hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for the valuable feedback you have given regarding your recent stay here. It gives us great pleasure that you found the property meeting your expectations of a boutique hotel as per our wish to provide a world class service and products to delight our Guests.
We thank you for staying with us and wish you the best in your travels hoping they bring you to our doorstep and we get to host you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews