We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rob and Janie”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on the 21st and stayed in room 1 for 5 nights. We had a wonderful experience. The room was very large and comfortable. Housekeeping kept it very clean and replenished supplies regularly. Noise from the main road was not a factor.
The attached restaurant has a fabulous kitchen. Included breakfast meals were excellent as were the dinners we had. The wine list also offers a wife range of quality products.
What made our stay outstanding was the service and smiles from everyone working in the hotel. George acted as our concierge and arranged wonderful city and wineland tours and transfers. The waiting staff in the restaurant were also excellent. Some of the folks who deserve a shout out are Peter, Aviwe and Webster. All the staff were very professional and friendly.
The only caution is laundry service is expensive. Having said that I also have to say the clothes were perfectly cleaned and packaged in what looked like gift boxes when we returned to our room.
We would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank thetwogreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rob and Janie,

Thank you for the lovely review. the whole team and in particular George, Aviwe, Webster and Peter are walking with an extra bounce in their step this morning from the recognition above :). More than anything we are delighted that you found our product and service offering to your liking.
With the laundry service as you attest above, we work with the best in the city whom we believe offer a service in line with what we want to achieve here i.e. ensuring proper handling and cleaning of Guests' clothing as well as the fastest possible turnaround to suit the demands of our Guests. We will however explore the possibility of engaging an alternative laundry service option for our Guests going forward so there that opportunity of making a choice.
We wish you well in your travels and wish to host you here in future with our warm hospitality.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

We were really disappointed with the room itself, not very clean and very small compared to other hotel with the same price.
Regarding the location, it was not convenient. we had to take a taxi to reach our destination.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B9349TBphilipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Philippe,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback on your recent stay here. We regret that we did not meet your expectations which is inconsistent with what we are trying to achieve here. We have taken to heart the feedback on the aspects we have to improve on and I can assure you the next time you are in the city you will find an improved offering.
It is a pity our location did not work for you, Greenpoint is an upcoming buzzing mixed use area with various restaurant, bars, galleries etc. The suburb is just some 15 minutes' walk (4 minutes' drive) to the CBD and V&A waterfront and would ideally work for anyone that puts accessibility and centrality at the core of their stay.
We wish you the best in your travels and thank you for staying with us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We stayed at the Sugar Hotel at the end of December 2017 and on a positive note the people we came across that were working at the hotel were extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. They cannot be faulted. There is nothing specifically wrong with the hotel itself other than the room was small and because of this so was the bed. I am just 6ft tall, on a good day, but the bed was too short for me and my feet were hanging outside of the bed. If you are over 6ft then it may be a little uncomfortable. What let's this hotel down is the price you pay for what you get. We stayed at 6 places over our 2 weeks in the area and this was by far the most expensive.There are much better places for a lot less in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first. The one I had, with an unusable plunge pool, was very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awslufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Awslufc,

Thank you for the valuable feedback. We appreciate that Team Sugar went all out and stuck to our highly regarded ethos of friendliness, professionalism and helpfulness. At this hotel we use standard beds, our entry level rooms i.e. the Deluxe Queen (Ground Floor) and The Deluxe Double rooms have the queen and double beds respectively. In contrast our higher category Deluxe King and Superior King rooms come with the impressive extra width king beds for the traveler that enjoys the extra bed space and they come highly recommended as may be noted in the reviews of fellow travelers on these pages.
We would like to host you in one of these higher category rooms in future. We wish you the best in your travels.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel has the best customer service i have ever experienced. The food is also fantastic and the rooms are very comfortable. Position is also great. I will always stay here for work and play.

I managed to meet the owners and management who were super friendly and helpful. The price is also very competitive, must stay hotel!! Love it

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations.
We look forward to having you here on your future stays to create more memorable experiences.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We stayed the first week of November for 3 nights at Sugar hotel. The staff was very welcoming. We were in a room with the pool on the deck. The room was very well done, it was quiet. We had dinner one night at the restaurant, would highly recommend. It was great food. Good menu as well for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkosi_Moyo, General Manager at Sugar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Liz B
Thank you for the valuable feedback you have given regarding your recent stay here. It gives us great pleasure that you found the property meeting your expectations of a boutique hotel as per our wish to provide a world class service and products to delight our Guests.
We thank you for staying with us and wish you the best in your travels hoping they bring you to our doorstep and we get to host you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 112 in Cape Town Central
443 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 086 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
509 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#36 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 540 - R 3 069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing