We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and welcoming!!”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We had a lovely stay at Sugar Hotel during our three nights there in June, despite the inclement weather! The room was beautiful: the bed was comfortable and afforded an excellent sleep; the bathroom was luxurious; and everything was tastefully decorated and tidy. Breakfasts were delicious and we were pleasantly surprised to discover they were included with the room! The staff was helpful and welcoming, and the waterfront was within walking distance. If I'm back in Cape Town again, I will certainly stay here! My only negative for an otherwise wonderful stay was my experience with its spa. When I tried to find out how much the services cost, the esthetician kept quoting different prices (all of them signficantly higher than the price list I had been given by the concierge); it did not give a good or professional impression, and I ended up not booking any treatments as a result. I also highly recommend Marc's Table (the hotel restaurant) for dinner!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a plunge pool if you're there in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Sugar hotel is in a good and safe area at about 10-15 min walk from the CTICC conference center, the Wavefront and downtown Capetown.

Breakfast is a la carte and excellent (but the staff allows custom orders as well). Everything is fresh and nice.

The rooms are spacious and clean with very comfortable beds.

Recommended.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
Thank EddyBee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

So this was our 3rd visit to this hotel and I really can't recommend it enough. I think the hotel has just 7 bedrooms but they are all beautiful and and very spacious with lovely bathrooms, the hotel is a great location, just 15 mins walk from the V&A - lots of nice bars and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel and wonderful staff who can't do enough for you, We tried the new restaurant and it was excellent. If you are coming to Cape Town and have had enough of big impersonal hotels this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gary010169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

So if you want the best hotel in Cape Town that is within walking distance of the waterfront but half the price of the waterfront hotels book at the Sugar. It is a small boutique hotel which is furnished beautifully and the staff is exceptional. In addition Marc's Restaurant located in the hotel is fabulous-the food is beyond compare. So if you want to visit Cape Town and stay at the best hotel book at the Sugar and say hello to the exceptional employees at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank nabatoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

The owners have been very accommodating when we moved our booking twice. Very reasonably priced and location superb.

I loved that we had a water purifier built into the bathroom sink.

The breakfast was great and everything is included.

I'll definitely return.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
121 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 112 in Cape Town Central
441 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 085 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
509 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#57 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 540 - R 3 197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing