We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$130
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$146
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$762
US$742
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
281
75
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
75
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarc's tableboutique hotelplunge poolsmall hotelmain roadmin walkbreakfast was includedgreat boutiquethe hotel staffrooms are largecomfy bedbeautiful hotelfelt very safecentral locationtable mountainwaterfrontgreenpoint
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Sugar hotel is in a good and safe area at about 10-15 min walk from the CTICC conference center, the Wavefront and downtown Capetown.

Breakfast is a la carte and excellent (but the staff allows custom orders as well). Everything is fresh and nice.

The rooms are spacious and clean with very comfortable beds.

Recommended.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
Thank EddyBee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

So this was our 3rd visit to this hotel and I really can't recommend it enough. I think the hotel has just 7 bedrooms but they are all beautiful and and very spacious with lovely bathrooms, the hotel is a great location, just 15 mins walk from the V&A - lots of nice bars and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel and wonderful staff who can't do enough for you, We tried the new restaurant and it was excellent. If you are coming to Cape Town and have had enough of big impersonal hotels this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gary010169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

So if you want the best hotel in Cape Town that is within walking distance of the waterfront but half the price of the waterfront hotels book at the Sugar. It is a small boutique hotel which is furnished beautifully and the staff is exceptional. In addition Marc's Restaurant located in the hotel is fabulous-the food is beyond compare. So if you want to visit Cape Town and stay at the best hotel book at the Sugar and say hello to the exceptional employees at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank nabatoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

The owners have been very accommodating when we moved our booking twice. Very reasonably priced and location superb.

I loved that we had a water purifier built into the bathroom sink.

The breakfast was great and everything is included.

I'll definitely return.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

My family stayed here for 5 days in early July. Our room was lovely and spacious, and importantly our daughter had a proper bed and the room wasn't cramped when the extra bed was added. We were I. Room two, first floor at the front of the hotel. One night we experienced a bit of no is from the festa turns downstairs. This might be a problem in nicer weather when people are outdoors later. Breakfast is taken in theajoining Marc's Table restaurant. We didn't eat here (other than breakfast). The choice was OK, and the waitress lovely and helpful, but the service was painfully slow and sometimes they didn't have items as orders hadn't arrived. This was the only thing we could fault about our stay. The guy who manned the night reception (George) was especially helpful.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back of the hotel (away from main rd and restaurant)
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews