We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
124
139
64
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
139
64
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemergency roomlong streetwelcome drinkkaraoke roominteresting stayno elevatorrooms are smallshort staynight lifebars and restaurantsa great stayperfect hotelhop on hop off buscompany gardenscentral locationbo kaaptable mountain
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My fourth stay at Daddy Long Legs, all excellent. The rooms, all different, are comfortable and clean. Coffee and tea are available in the room as well as in reception. There is a balcony by reception overlooking Long Street. The staff is most helpful in every way and that is the reason I continue to book here! A very good breakfast, not included in the rate, is located immediately adjacent to the hotel. This hotel is my first choice in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lew4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manie786, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Dear Lew4100

Your review just made our day extra special. :-) Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your first choice and for your support - much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future...

Kindest regards
The Daddy Long Legs Team ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We had a very good stay at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel. The front of house manager made us felt very welcome. He went out of his way to explain the history and also to show us around. The room we stayed in was stunning and the detail that went into it even more so! We would love to come back for another visit!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 444madeleinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manie786, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear 444madeleinv

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel and for taking the time to share your "Stunning experience" with the rest of the world.

Yes, please do come back for another visit. ;-)

Kindest regards
The Daddy Long Legs Team. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We were looking forward to a stay in Long Street at this highly advertised establishment.
We were placed in a room on the second floor which was clean and neat but so small that it could only fit one chair. So you could not sit anywhere comfortably. The staff were really welcoming but the hype regarding this hotel did not live up to expectations.
Bed and pillows were comfortable but the see-through door into the bathroom with a perfect view if the toilet should have been addressed by the 'top architect' who designed this particular room. I'm sure they did not spend a romantic night.
Will not be returning.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manie786, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Gary

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review online and for choosing to stay at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel. You input is important to us as we're always looking at ways to improve.

We wish you everything of the best...

Kindest regards
The Daddy Long Legs Team. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This is a unique place to stay and great if you're on a budget. The rooms were clean and the staff really helpful and friendly. It's in a prime location in the city centre which is really buzzing in the evening with bars and restaurants.

The rooms are quite small, but for backpackers on a budget this quirky place is a great option. For those looking for a more upmarket hotel with a bit of luxury and relaxation - this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loisjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manie786, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear loisjkt

Thank you for choosing to stay at DLL and for sharing your experience with the rest of the world.

I agree 100% - "Value for money". ;-) Thanks.

We wish you everything of the best and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
The Daddy Long Legs Team. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

After visiting various 5/4/3 star & Boutique Hotels, this very nearly comes close to a motel/back packers venue: Why? 1. Enclosed room almost jail like, small windows (at top of the wall close to ceiling) 2. No hairdryers 3. No tv (yup not even a black & white box tv) 3. No lift, you will carry everything up the scary screeching wooden stairs yourself. 5. No parking available - parking on the street. 6. The address indicates it is situated at one place in long str, then once there the doors are locked and a sign re-directs you to a lower part of town where the boutique hotel is - long walk with heavy bags. 7.The 'artsy decorated' rooms are over rated and this is a complete waste of money.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank laumerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manie786, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Dear Laurette Van Der Merwe

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review online and for choosing our hotel for your one night stay.

"Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel" is an art hotel and we offer our guests a unique experience as you can see by reading our other online reviews and we compliment our hotel's uniqueness with our staff's helpfulness and friendliness. :-)
We provide our guests with very comfortable and clean accommodation.
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel is located in the centre of the "mother city" and we don't see the need to have TV's in our rooms as we would like for our guests to experience the time and effort that went into creating 13 unique rooms which were designed by 13 different artist. We also want our guests to experience the beauty that Cape Town has to offer - Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront, Botanical Gardens (in the city) and the list goes on. We do have a BIG flat screen TV's with DSTV in our lounge area and all our guests are welcome to enjoy their welcome drink while watching TV.
Hairdryers are available from reception as mentioned in your welcome letter which was handed to you on check-in.
We have two properties in Long Street - Daddy long Legs Art Hotel & Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Apartments - You probably drove pass the art hotel to our other property hence you having to come back to the hotel. Our hotel's address is on all our emails that were sent to you and also on our website and letter heads - we understand that not everyone reads all the information that's provided in our correspondence and this is why we'll gladly assist any of our guest 24/7 with directions and advice on things to do in and around Cape Town. ;-)

We wish you everything of the best...

Kindest regards
The Daddy Long Legs Team ;-)

I trust that the above is clear and please feel free to contact us for any further queries that you might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews