We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable restaurant ”

The Black Sheep Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

Ok, you go in, and you see a neighborhood restaurant with paper napkins and no tablecloth and a very informal server.
And then ... the food arrives. Oh my God.
I can not tell you to try this or that because the menu varies depending on what fresh ingredients are available.
The menu is, in fact, just written on a chalkboard. We had a wild boar dish: we will be dreaming of it for ages. The appetizers were just as good, and so was the dessert.
I just can't understand why the place doesn't have multiple Michelin stars.
My very convinced advice is that if you are in Cape Town, you should definitely try this place.
You will love it.
Ah, yes: let the server help you select the wine. They know what they are doing: trust them.

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank paolobT5318YU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1 219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 1 219 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2024

Fabulous bistro-type restaurant on Kloof St. Great wine choices and an extensive, reasonably priced, menu. Loved the carpenter fish (hadn't tried it before). Friendly, relaxed staff. Recommended 100%.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank okmurrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

Went here a few times on our trip to S Africa and each time was a joy. Whilst the place is seemingly very casual, the food is nonetheless of great quality and with many interesting choices to select from. Cheery service and a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank MCCC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2024

Returning to this restaurant after 5 years we were very happy it had survived when so many others had not. Easy to book, easy to find, easy to feel comfortable. Everything we ordered was fantastic. The service was warm and welcoming. One guest allergic to gluten was well taken care of.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcb939
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

We had an excellent meal here, we both had the pasta with kudu and it was a delicious meal. Lovely ambience and nice menu options.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank stephaniereviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Black Sheep Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Black Sheep Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.