We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 6 272
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
R 5 490
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
R 5 477
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 319)
Filter reviews
2 320 results
Traveller rating
2 158
140
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 158
140
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea point home away from home the entire staff stay in cape town breakfast was delicious south africa our honeymoon garden route quiet street boutique hotel fantastic stay guest house table mountain godfrey waterfront sa winelands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2 320 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2023 via mobile

We first visited here almost 20 years ago and it was nice to see the quality of rooms and in particular the service were even better than before. Rooms are spacious with everything you need and more, they are stylish and modern with large comfy beds and nice toiletries.

However….. what sets this place leagues apart from the competition is the level of service they offer. Everyone is sooo friendly and fun with it that it’s a joy to spend time round the hotel. Particular commendation has to go to Riano, Karin and Godfrey. They really could not do enough for you. Riano was thoroughly entertaining throughout our stay. All of them went way above and beyond an expected level of service.

A totally deserved number one spot and solid 5 star review.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2023 via mobile

Blackheath lodge is a Boutique style Hotel with al lot of Charme and a very personal service and hospitality. The whole team is always there for you. Riano, the soul of the house, will make your stay one you will never forget and
supports you to visit the best sights and find the good restaurants and bars. But also reception, breakfast team and the Night security team are great.
We hope we can come back.
Esther & Ralf, Germany

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ralf Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2023

My family of 5 had a wonderful stay at Blackheath at the end of October. We had rooms 15 & 16. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms were updated and clean. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. The best part of our stay was the staff. They were warm, welcoming and made sure all our needs were met. We enjoyed chatting with Karin, Riano, Jackie and Godfrey. All made us feel special. Dinner recommendations were given and reservations made. We booked 3 tours through Blackhealth and so glad we did. We had the same tour guide all 3 days. He was wonderful and knowledgeable. The tours were private for my family. Because of this Karin recommended we rearrange our tour days due to the high winds. It all worked out perfect! I hope we can return to Cape Town in the future. If we do, we’ll stay at Blackheath again!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gjkbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Blackheath Lodge is such a perfect, quaint, intimate getaway from the bustle of Cape Town. We LOVED our experience there. The breakfast was incredible every morning, the cocktails were delicious and the entire staff was so helpful and friendly. ESPECIALLY Riano - he was THE BEST!!! So helpful when we needed places to eat, and what a treat to walk into breakfast to his huge smile. We so appreciated that he knew our names - it made the stay that much more personal. Cannot say enough great things. And the rooms were updated and clean!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LeilaniTravels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023 via mobile

Just left this amazing hotel! The entire experience was superb. Staff are warm, welcoming and work in tandem to take care of every detail. We had a family of four and our unit was an apartment but with the extra bonus of access to all of the wonderful spaces throughout the hotel as well as the excellent breakfast and service. Easily accommodated vegetarian and celiac dining requests. Staff helped us to arrange fun activities, transport and dinner reservations! Great info on when and where to walk comfortably and when to get transport. Definitely recommend to others seeking a boutique hotel and friendly setting!

Room tip: Recommend travel arrangement support to/from airport.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karin Coetzee, General Manager at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Hi Colleen,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Blackheath Lodge and we hope that you would come and visit us again.

Best regards,
The BHL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews