We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 3 987
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
R 4 486
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Official Site
R 3 550
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 336)
Filter reviews
2 336 results
Traveller rating
2 174
140
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 174
140
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea point home away from home the entire staff stay in cape town breakfast was delicious south africa our honeymoon garden route quiet street boutique hotel fantastic stay guest house table mountain godfrey waterfront sa winelands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 2 336 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2023 via mobile

Just left this amazing hotel! The entire experience was superb. Staff are warm, welcoming and work in tandem to take care of every detail. We had a family of four and our unit was an apartment but with the extra bonus of access to all of the wonderful spaces throughout the hotel as well as the excellent breakfast and service. Easily accommodated vegetarian and celiac dining requests. Staff helped us to arrange fun activities, transport and dinner reservations! Great info on when and where to walk comfortably and when to get transport. Definitely recommend to others seeking a boutique hotel and friendly setting!

Room tip: Recommend travel arrangement support to/from airport.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karin Coetzee, General Manager at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Hi Colleen,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Blackheath Lodge and we hope that you would come and visit us again.

Best regards,
The BHL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2023

From the moment I stumbled across Blackheath Lodge when planning a trip to South Africa - every interaction with the hotel was absolutely flawless. It’s a smaller, cozy hotel that really can’t be beat.

Pre-trip: Karin was so helpful in answering all my questions about the rooms, tours, airport transfers, etc. In fact, she was so responsive that we decided to book all of our Cape Town tours through Blackheath.

Arrival: We arrived in Cape Town during a really bad storm, and waited in customs for several hours. Our driver (arranged through Blackheath) met us just after customs, and he was such a welcoming face after a very long journey. Despite the bad weather, he got us to the hotel safely and without any issues. Once we got to the hotel, a number of staff members greeted us and directed us to the hotel bar to relax with a welcome drink while they transferred our luggage to the room.

Room: There were three of us in the traveling party, so we reserved the Loft Suite (Room 12). Note that there are stairs to the room if that is problematic for anyone in your group. The room was lovely, and discovered a nice deck once the weather cleared. I absolutely fell in love with the Charlotte Rhys body products that the hotel supplies. So much so that Riano tracked down the scent for me.

Bar: The bar is a great place to relax in the late afternoon or evening. It’s also an opportunity to meet other Blackheath guests, share tips on restaurants and safaris and hear about their travels.

Breakfast: This is served in a lovely room off the main lobby and includes both cold and hot options. They serve great lattes and cappuccinos as well. It was such a relaxing way to start the day before heading off to tour Cape Town.

Tours: We booked both the Cape of Good Hope and Wine Region tours through Blackheath. Our driver picked us up each morning at the hotel in a very comfortable van. Knowing that we had a reputable guide really made a difference and we were able to reserve this as a private tour.

Staff: Last but not least - I don’t have the words to describe how wonderful the staff is at Blackheath. They really do make you feel like family. Every single person we interacted with was so kind and genuine. Thanks to each of you for making our stay so fantastic.

* Karin makes the planning part of your trip seamless. We were fortunate to meet her upon our return from our safari, and she is just as personable face-to-face as over email.
* From the start Riano greeted us warmly and set the tone for our visit. He sat down with us our first morning for an overview of Cape Town and to answer questions. He also sent a good list of restaurant recommendations. We chose Paranga and Codfish off his list - and both were wonderful experiences. Don’t pass up Riano’s drink recommendations either! I went with the South African Six Dogs Blue Gin and pink tonic, and after that I was sold on this drink for the rest of the trip. He was also really responsive to any texts I sent throughout our stay.
* Peter the night manager was always gracious - and made sure we had everything we needed in the evening.
* Robin - thank you for making our restaurant recommendations and answering our questions. I don’t know if it’s the Blackheath connections - but we always got wonderful tables at the restaurants we chose!!
* Comfort greeted us at the front door every night to make sure we arrived back at the hotel safely.
* And to the staff in the morning - your service is impeccable and your warmth is contagious.

When I return to Cape Town - Blackheath will always be my choice of where to stay. Don’t miss out on this lovely hotel.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kashou106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karin Coetzee, General Manager at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Dearest Kathleen,

WOW, what an amazing review. For you to sit and take the time to write such a lovely review means so much to the Blackheath Lodge team. We are so glad to hear that you loved your stay with us.
We hope that you will come and visit us again.

All the best,
The BHL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

As soon as you arrive at the Blackheath and are greeted by Ryano, you know you are in a special place. The location in a quiet area of Sea Point is accessible to the Waterfront via Uber, taxi and there are very nice restaurants nearby. We were a family group of 6 and had very nice, ample, and comfortable connecting apartments in one of the units the lodge has combined to create private and luxurious accommodations. The common areas and the attention to detail of the team responsible for breakfast, afternoon cookies and cake or just simple smiles are unforgettable. We would definitely return and recommend The Blackheath if you are looking for very comfortable and quiet accommodations where you are greeted and feel like home.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Fred O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2023

Blackheath Lodge is an absolutely stunning B&B style hotel tucked in the heart of Sea Point making it very easily accessible to Cape Town’s main features such as V&A, Table Mountain, Camps Bay, etc. The rooms and amenities are intentionally styled and in my opinion looks even better in person.

However, as beautiful as this venue is, it was really the service that went well beyond our expectations. We had the pleasure of working with Riano for most our stay—an absolute gem. He’s a great personality to have around and was such a lifesaver for us. Due to unprecedented weather, our next stay in Franschhoek had to be cancelled, and Riano and his team were able to accommodate us last minute and made sure the remainder of our trip with them was still memorable.

We also had the pleasure of meeting Karin and Robin as well who were also lovely. The entire staff at Blackheath was wonderful and would always have our tea or coffee waiting for us and made exactly the way we liked it!

Couldn’t recommend this establishment enough. If we are ever fortunate enough to visit Cape Town again, we will absolutely be staying here and will recommend to everyone we know!

Room tip: Don't miss the complementary breakfast! Also, there's always snacks and homemade cake available in the lobby.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2023

From the moment we arrived the team made us feel both like VIPs and at the same time family. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the attention to detail is throughout from decoration of rooms to the way breakfast is served.
We would highly recommend.
It's location makes walking to the waterfront possible and once back it was beautifully quiet.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews