We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized service”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Blackheath Dec. 10 -14, 2017. We were met at airport and delivered to the hotel in a van. We were greeted by name when we arrived and greeted by name every morning of our stay. Our room was very good and very accessible which is important when you travel by yourself over age 75.

The hotel has planned excursion trips to the sights of Cape Town. They left on our schedule and were by van with just my wife and I and the knowledgable guide driving. We took three day trips to Table Mt.and the city tour, to the Cape and to wine country.

We felt we saw the highlights of the city and felt we were part of the planning.

Our whole trip was so personalized and we got dinner reservations from the manager Karin who calmed all our concerns about being out at night. She provided us with a cell phone to call if we had any problems.

Karin in particular but the whole staff was very helpful and solicitous.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank willard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Willard and Lillian - Many thanks for your review and delighted you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1 900 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an excellent way to start our trip to SA. The staff made us feel so welcome. They went out of their way to help with our travel arrangements. The rooms were very comfortable and had everything we needed. Even a cell phone for our use. Food was also excellent. The bar was enjoyable in the evenings. It was nice to socialise with the other guests. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sharon - so pleased you enjoyed the social side of the hotel, in particular the bar in the evening. Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived at Blackheath Lodge it was nighttime with two children in a brand new city and country - the perfect time for a home-away-from-home. Blackheath Lodge could not have been better. The staff was attentive and waiting, our room beautiful and well-appointed -- down to offering local cell phones! And the breakfast the next morning was truly something to rave about -- totally home-cooked --- but better than anything that I would have cooked for my family myself. The staff was quick to introduce themselves and make themselves available for any questions we had, both to get our bearings and to plan our itinerary. They shared their favorite activities and eagerly went to work getting us any tickets and reservations we needed -- while we enjoyed hot breakfast and coffee! This is obviously run like a labor of love, full of warmth and character and friendly hospitality. And my husband couldn't believe the value for the service and room provided. It was the perfect start to our South African adventure, and I would have happily stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jennifer & Family - we are delighted you felt 'at home' here at the start of your South African adventure, enjoying the home cooked breakfasts, use of the local cell phone and personalized service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had the pleasure on staying here for the first 3 nights of our 10 day trip to South Africa. After a stressful start with our flight from the States, we had a bit of a mix up with the scheduled transportation service to Blackheath Lodge. Despite the fact that it wasn’t their technically their fault (airline put us on a different flight without notifying us), Keren jumped in to correct the problem and facilitate our transfer to the hotel with drinks waiting. They also were kind enough to upgrade us to a beautifully spacious room with a kitchen and sea view to accommodate for our inconvenience. This is just one testament to how the level of customer service at Blackheath Lodge exceeds expectation. You can expect to be greeted by friendly faces every morning that are always eager to help plan your day, check wait times at Table Mountain, or arrange your transportation. In addition to the great staff, we were pleasantly surprised by the delicious assortment of foods at breakfast. The made to order hot items were a key way to start our day each morning. All in all, Blackheath is a great value for the money and I would certainly return if we ever make it back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKHoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bryan & Krystal - lovely to hear you had a fantastic experience here at BHL and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The very best thing about this beautiful small space is the wonderful and friendly service. I want to mention especially Karen and Charle for their gracious support in helping me retrieve my iPhone which had been dropped in a taxi the previous night. Mission accomplished ! The hotel itself is made up of several adjoining Cape houses seamlessly put together. It has atmosphere and interest in the way that intimacy and practicality have been melded into a warm ensemble centred on a small pool and garden. Centrally located, and yet on a very quiet tree-lined street. Absolutely to be recommended.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Amy & Doug - It was our pleasure to assist you to retrieve your iPhone and look forward to welcoming you back to BHL soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 460 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 841 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 336 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 261 - R4 338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing