We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 971)
Filter reviews
1 971 results
Traveller rating
1 819
132
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 819
132
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pointlocal mobile phonehome away from homerestaurant recommendationsthe entire staffstay in cape townsouth africalittle touchescape pointcooked breakfastour honeymoondinner reservationspersonal servicewestern capecamps baya wonderful stayguest house
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1 971 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

What an excellent way to start our trip to SA. The staff made us feel so welcome. They went out of their way to help with our travel arrangements. The rooms were very comfortable and had everything we needed. Even a cell phone for our use. Food was also excellent. The bar was enjoyable in the evenings. It was nice to socialise with the other guests. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hi Sharon - so pleased you enjoyed the social side of the hotel, in particular the bar in the evening. Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

When we arrived at Blackheath Lodge it was nighttime with two children in a brand new city and country - the perfect time for a home-away-from-home. Blackheath Lodge could not have been better. The staff was attentive and waiting, our room beautiful and well-appointed -- down to offering local cell phones! And the breakfast the next morning was truly something to rave about -- totally home-cooked --- but better than anything that I would have cooked for my family myself. The staff was quick to introduce themselves and make themselves available for any questions we had, both to get our bearings and to plan our itinerary. They shared their favorite activities and eagerly went to work getting us any tickets and reservations we needed -- while we enjoyed hot breakfast and coffee! This is obviously run like a labor of love, full of warmth and character and friendly hospitality. And my husband couldn't believe the value for the service and room provided. It was the perfect start to our South African adventure, and I would have happily stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hi Jennifer & Family - we are delighted you felt 'at home' here at the start of your South African adventure, enjoying the home cooked breakfasts, use of the local cell phone and personalized service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure on staying here for the first 3 nights of our 10 day trip to South Africa. After a stressful start with our flight from the States, we had a bit of a mix up with the scheduled transportation service to Blackheath Lodge. Despite the fact that it wasn’t their technically their fault (airline put us on a different flight without notifying us), Keren jumped in to correct the problem and facilitate our transfer to the hotel with drinks waiting. They also were kind enough to upgrade us to a beautifully spacious room with a kitchen and sea view to accommodate for our inconvenience. This is just one testament to how the level of customer service at Blackheath Lodge exceeds expectation. You can expect to be greeted by friendly faces every morning that are always eager to help plan your day, check wait times at Table Mountain, or arrange your transportation. In addition to the great staff, we were pleasantly surprised by the delicious assortment of foods at breakfast. The made to order hot items were a key way to start our day each morning. All in all, Blackheath is a great value for the money and I would certainly return if we ever make it back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKHoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Bryan & Krystal - lovely to hear you had a fantastic experience here at BHL and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

The very best thing about this beautiful small space is the wonderful and friendly service. I want to mention especially Karen and Charle for their gracious support in helping me retrieve my iPhone which had been dropped in a taxi the previous night. Mission accomplished ! The hotel itself is made up of several adjoining Cape houses seamlessly put together. It has atmosphere and interest in the way that intimacy and practicality have been melded into a warm ensemble centred on a small pool and garden. Centrally located, and yet on a very quiet tree-lined street. Absolutely to be recommended.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Amy & Doug - It was our pleasure to assist you to retrieve your iPhone and look forward to welcoming you back to BHL soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We stayed here with our 2 children in their apartment. 2 bedrooms,bathroom,open plan kitchen,lounge and diner. In the uk this is called a boutique hotel. Although not obviously a place for children we couldn't have been made more welcome. We have stayed in a lot of similar places in South Africa and the uk but this was the best. All members of staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast great every morning lovely Buffett and hot made to order food, we arrived after a night flight and were immediately offered breakfast after which our room was ready. So great compared with strict 3pm check in of British hotels. . Lots of help with bookings and trips. Just gave across a genuine vibe of being interested in making your time in Cape town the best it can be. Lots of freebies like candy corner(sorry our kids ate all the smarties/Apple lollies), wine/beer around the pool, tea/coffee in room and in the main areas, board games,DVDs etc. Room very smart with great towels/linen, DVD players, original art, comfy sofas etc. little pool great after a day out and we seemed on,y ones in it. we loved coco the dog too!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank jo723611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Wow - thanks for your lovely review and so pleased you and your family felt right 'at home' here at BHL !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews