We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Three Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$223
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$132
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$148
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$779
US$742
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$149
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
314
89
17
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
89
17
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracehonesty bartable mountainshuttle servicecity bowlsmall hotelsuperb stayhonor barshuttle busluxury roomquiet areafresh fruitcold meatsbreakfast was amazingcomfortable roomscamps baybeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. Lovely hotel, good room, all staff very friendly. Great breakfast. Would certainly return. Highly recommend, convenient for V and A Waterfront. Efficient mini bus facility..........................

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinLionRoars, Owner at The Three Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your stay with us. It warms our hearts to hear that you stayed comfortably and that our staff were welcoming. We strive for excellence and we take pride in our staff for preparing an enjoyable breakfast. We certainly do hope to see you again. Best wishes, the team at Three Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Lovely small hotel with wonderful views of Table Mountain. Friendly staff, good food and a very nice comfortable room. Nothing was to much trouble, they provided goo advise and had there own transport. A very enjoyable stay,

Room Tip: All lovely rooms
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank _ymh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinLionRoars, Owner at The Three Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Three Boutique Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at our boutique hotel and we truly value your feedback. We always work hard to ensure the best of experiences for our guest so we are truly pleased that our staff provided friendly service. We hope to see you again. Best wishes, The team at Three Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the beginning of January.
On arrival we were given a very warm welcome by Pieter the manager who got us beer and wine which we drank by the pool whilst we waited for our rooms to be finished.
The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet neighbourhood at the base of Table Mountain yet it is only a £5 taxi ride from the V & A waterfront and central Cape Town.
The rooms in the hotel are quite contemperary considering it is a period property but they are well equipped and contain everything that you need.
The hotel has some lovely touches such as a decanter of sherry in your room for a nightcap and a very well equipped reasonable priced honesty bar downstairs.
We found the breakfast buffet excellent with plenty of fresh fruit, cereal and a great choice of cooked options. My personal favourite was the eggs benedict which was served on a raft of toast.
We did a day trip to the peninsula with the hotels manager Pieter in the hotels comfortable, air conditioned minibus. Pieters passion and knowledge of the area made for an excellent day out and we got to see such iconic sights as The Cape of Good Hope, Cape Point and the gorgeous penguins at Boulder Beach to name but a few.
My advise to anyone going to Cape Town would be to stay at this hotel and seek out the advise of Pieter as to what to see and to to maximise your time there.
Well done Three Boutique we had an amazing stay with you. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main part of the house.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank washy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinLionRoars, Owner at The Three Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Three Boutique and taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you had an amazing time staying with us. It is our aim to provide personal service and so we take pride in our staff for providing outstanding service to ensure utmost guest experiences. We are also pleased to hear that you took part in one of our tours and you thoroughly enjoyed it with Pieter's passionate and professional guidance. We thank you for your wonderful feedback for all the facilities and services our hotel offers. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you again on your next trip to Cape Town. Best wishes, the Three Boutique team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel to stay in Cape Town for New Years Eve. Unfortunately based on the comments I think we were given the same room as the reviewer from 23rd December as we arrived to exactly the same issues, stained carpet, small bedroom (with a bigger bathroom), one dressing gown in the wardrobe when booking was for two people, nespresso machine without pods, pillow cases with threads hanging off from too many washes etc. Thankfully when we highlighted the issues to the hotel they quickly offered an alternative room which was far better, bigger, and cleaner, and the staff left flowers in the room as a gesture of goodwill.
It just seemed a surprise to find before writing this that despite the previous review being posted over a week before our arrival to mention those same issues, apparently nothing had been done about it.
It's not a bad place, but the pictures make is look so much better that it sets your expectations high.
The pool is right next to the main parking area, there was no water in the room, the breakfast and coffee are ok but nothing special, and the location is in a very residential area almost nothing within waking distance so it can be used as a base only. We stayed in far better (and cheaper) places during our visit to Cape Town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neilstobbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinLionRoars, Owner at The Three Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thanks for your review and feedback.

My sincere apologies that your experience at our hotel was not in line with our reputation of being a top rated 4-star establishment in Cape Town.

I just wanted to answer a couple of your points relating to your room and your experience:

The room you stayed in is a bit smaller than some of the other rooms; we would love for all the rooms to be exactly the same but this is an historical building, and there is not much we can do to change the room size, except by knocking through walls etc. The Western Cape Heritage Department would not allow changes like these, nor would we want to compromise the structure in any way. The room you (and a previous reviewer before you) were allocated has a bigger bathroom than most rooms which is a big plus for some guests.

Our carpets are black in colour and the stain on the carpet you pointed out was a tiny spot of bleach which had made a white dot, which unfortunately in the space of 1 week over New Year we could not re-carpet the room.

The mini bar and Nespresso machine are stocked on request as explained on check-in and there is also a sign in the room explaining that the pods can be replenished at reception. There was complimentary regular coffee and a selection of teas to choose from in your room.

However, we have now introduced complimentary coffee pods in the rooms as well as 1.5l water in the room on arrival. We do offer a complimentary drink on arrival which could have been water if you had so wished, but we gave you a bottle of bubbly instead.

The breakfast is something we pride ourselves on: with a sumptuous buffet as well as a hot menu with items such as eggs benedict with smoked trout. The coffee, which we source from a top local fair trade roastery “Run Rabbit Run”, is usually a big hit with our guests and it’s roasted especially for us.

We are located in a residential neighbourhood which is 10 mins walk to town or the restaurants of Kloof Street and Long Street and 10 mins cab to the Waterfront ($4US). Generally, we find our guests don’t want to be in the tourist traps of the Waterfront etc and we try to offer a bit of peace and tranquillity away from the crowds but close enough to enjoy without travelling far.

Thank you again for taking the time to write to us, we really value your feedback.

Best wishes, The team at The Three Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

On the plus side, the hotel is well located in a quiet neightbourhood and the building (and courtyard) is, from the outside, beautiful. However, the room and breakfast is not what I would expect from a four star hotel calling itself 'boutique'. Our room was small with, bizarrely, a bigger bathroom than the room itself! There was a coffee machine, yet no coffee pods. There was only one bathrobe provided, despite the fact I booked a double room for two. The carpet had stains on it and the TV and satellite box was dusty. As for the bathroom, the light on one mirror didn't work, there was the old holder of a toilet brush hanging from the wall and the bin was distinctly rusty. Breakfast was also disappointing, with a pretty basic buffet selection. The swimming pool looked nice, but be warned it adjoins the car park. If you're looking for somewhere basic to stay a night in Cape Town, this place may be ok, otherwise I'd say look on.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ross1711uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinLionRoars, Owner at The Three Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Three Boutique Hotel and taking the time to review your stay with us. We are deeply saddened that you had a rather disappointing experience at our hotel and that the facilities and service were not up to standard. We appreciate your feedback as it points us to were we need to improve. We surely will look into all the concerns raised and take all necessary measures to resolve them. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences and discomfort caused. Best wishes, the team at Three Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews