We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
56
35
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
35
12
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

We spend 3 nights in Floreal House. Although we've seen more luxurious hotels, the Floreal House gave us the feeling of being at home. After a long trip around South Africa this is so nice! The rooms are large and clean, the 'sound' of the old floors belongs to this old house. Breakfast is delicious and served by a very friendly staff! Nathaly the manager of the hotel helps in a fantastic way with all the questions and bookings for taxi's restaurants etc. The neighborhood is quiet en feels safe. Within a short drive by car or taxi you are at the Waterfront where the action is. We loved our stay in the Floreal House!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Very friendly staff, especially Natalie.

Beautiful (old world charm) rooms with lovely view of Cape Town. Close to city center. Pretty swimming pool and lounge.

Nice breakfast.

Situated in beautiful suburb.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

having been our last stop from our long tour through the country, I did choose Floreal hose in Cape Town to stay over for he last 4 nights of our holiday.
Reason for it was that I have been staying at the Floreal House many times.
And also a request from my Belgian friends as they had stayed there once before as well and wanted to stay over at the Floreal House again.
the place is extremely well located. (although not so closed to the centre and the Waterfront, but more than enough wonderful restaurants in the surrounding.
Natalie and her staff are wonderful and rooms nice and comfortable.

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

On moving from Strand we stayed 4 nights in Cape Town before travelling onwards.
The room was very acceptable with a good supply of catering products. Break where we stay regularlyfast could be taken outside by the pool or inside and pool dining was very pleasant.. Just a short walk to Mount Nelson Hotel which is worth a visit for afternoon tea.
Floreal is just 50 yards from the Bus stop, the bus takes you into the City Centre and then another bus to the V & A. Very nice small pool, lounge with an honesty bar at all time.
This Hotel is part of a small group that includes Bradach Manor in Knysna

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnboyOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We recently spent 4 nights of our honeymoon at this little B&B style accommodation and liked it.

[LOCATION]
Floreal House is located at the top of Upper Orange Street, out of the bustling city centre but close enough for most things. Probably a good place to stay if you're driving but maybe not so convenient for walking etc. We had a car and drove everywhere. it's within 10 minutes of table mountain and pretty much everything else.

There are 3 parking spots within its gates but plenty on free on-road parking so parking is not an issue. Area felt safe.

There's also a nice bistro/cafe right across the road which sold a good burger (very large) at a very reasonable price. Good for a quick meal on arrival!

[ROOM]
Perhaps it was because it was our honeymoon but we appear to have gotten the largest room on the second floor, overlooking the bistro across the road. Room was very nicely set-up (quaint creeky floors and wooden furniture) and the bathroom was as large or larger than the room itself!

The shower space was not very large but adequate. Shower pressure was excellent with hot water at an instant. Toiletries provided (as with most accommodation in SA) came in large bottles and was adequate - but nothing fancy.

Room also seemed to lack a box of tissue although they did provide us with 2 packets of tissue on our first day but didn't replace them thereafter.

[BREAKFAST AND INTERNET]
Breakfast was included in our meals. The breakfast spread is very modest but included all the usual things - cereals, cold meats, cheeses, juices and a hot cooked breakfast. After a couple of days we started to tire of the standard breakfast and made up our own combinations of things we liked. They were happy to oblige and accommodate which was a nice touch.

Wifi access was available in our room at no charge. Signal was good and seemed quite speedy. No complaints here.

[SERVICE]
Overall, service was good. The manager, Natalie, made an effort to speak to us at breakfast each morning and to give us recommendations on what to do, where to eat etc. The cleaning staff were also very efficient in tidying up the room each morning. No complaints here.

My one little grouse is that while they prepared a bottle of sparkling wine in an ice bucket for our arrival, they removed it the next day when we hadn't touched it. We were too tired and jetlagged to drink the bubbly the first day and would've hoped that they'd leave it there (and supply fresh ice) when we wanted to open it on subsequent days. We didn't ask for it on account that it would've been a little strange ("Excuse me, can we please have our honeymoon bubbly back?"). Felt odd that they'd remove it if it was meant to be a welcome gift/ drink.

That aside, we liked this place very much and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Glorior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews