We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Floreal House
Nearby Hotels
US$176
US$114
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$107
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$754
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$277
US$248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
52
31
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
31
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice delicold buffettable mountainswimming poolyogurttaxiguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was my second visit having stayed here three years ago. The warm friendly welcome was still there. We arrived in the early evening and found many restaurants a very short distance away. Our room was very well appointed with a lovely bath and shower. Waking up, the sun poured through the window and we looked straight at Table Mountain.

The breakfast again was excellent. It was a wonderful relaxing and quiet stop over just a few minutes from the City Bowl. I can highly recommend Floreal House as the ideal base to explore Cape Town. Thank you Natalie for your professional and friendly management.

Room Tip: A view of Table Mountain is a big plus.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having stayed at Floreal House some years ago, my wife and I were keen to revisit prior to starting a holiday touring the Western Cape region. Natalie was very helpful during the booking process, helping us to get the room that we had stayed in 4 years ago (but couldn't remember the room number). We arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight, and were welcomed and given our room prior to book in time and a nice pot of tea by the pool.
The breakfast and service was second to none, and being in close proximity to both Table Mountain and Signal Hill made the view very special. With the Waterfront a mere 10 minutes away, we made the most of our couple of days in Cape Town, and eat out at The Millers Thumb very well on recommendation from Natalie.
We were treated like regulars, despite visiting only once prior, and I would recommend Floreal House to anyone visiting Cape Town, a beautiful location with fantastic service.
Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for a week during a business and pleasure trip to South Africa. This is a fantastic hotel/guest house! It is a converted colonial-type house, with high ceilings, wood beams and a general airy feel. The rooms are huge and very luxurious. Some rooms (2 & 3) have amazing views out over Cape Town and Devil's peak. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfasts are cooked to order. I can think of no negative points about this place.

Room Tip: go for rooms 2 & 3 if they're available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is the perfect place to start a holiday in Cape Town and the Garden Route, and one could not fault Floreal House in its position at the foot of Table Mountain. The staff are exceptional and the facilities perfect, the breakfast is superb and the daily snack menu very suitable for during the day. Our only criticism is that without a car it is a long walk down into Cape Town and even more of a hike back up hill!!! It really is necessary to have a car at Floreal House from Day 1. It is an ideal base for any holiday in the area. We could not recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which was fine, very well equipped. Other rooms in the building are on upper floors and some even have air-conditioning, which we did not need, but we had no outside space to sit quietly and read a book, this could only be done around the pool area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Truly a home away from home. I have been staying at the Floreal House for the past 7+years during my business trips and every stay is always better than the previous. The staff are always pleasant and helpful and make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious, modern and extremely cosy. Each room is equipped with a fully stocked bar fridge as well as a snack basket (honesty bar). What makes the place extra special is the main lounge area where you can either sit back relax and watch some TV or just mingle with the other guests and make conversation. Breakfasts are always good, serving the best of local. My home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews