We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All a pleasure!”
Review of Floreal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Floreal House
Ranked #65 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All a pleasure!”
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Every time I visit Cape Town, I only stay at one guesthouse, Floreal House. You are always greeted with a smile by the polite and friendly staff. The rooms are neat and very comfortable. The cost for the stay is also very affordable and the best part must be that you are 3 minutes away from some of the best restaurants in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielJHMaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    23
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
41
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was my second visit having stayed here three years ago. The warm friendly welcome was still there. We arrived in the early evening and found many restaurants a very short distance away. Our room was very well appointed with a lovely bath and shower. Waking up, the sun poured through the window and we looked straight at Table Mountain.

The breakfast again was excellent. It was a wonderful relaxing and quiet stop over just a few minutes from the City Bowl. I can highly recommend Floreal House as the ideal base to explore Cape Town. Thank you Natalie for your professional and friendly management.

Room Tip: A view of Table Mountain is a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having stayed at Floreal House some years ago, my wife and I were keen to revisit prior to starting a holiday touring the Western Cape region. Natalie was very helpful during the booking process, helping us to get the room that we had stayed in 4 years ago (but couldn't remember the room number). We arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight, and were welcomed and given our room prior to book in time and a nice pot of tea by the pool.
The breakfast and service was second to none, and being in close proximity to both Table Mountain and Signal Hill made the view very special. With the Waterfront a mere 10 minutes away, we made the most of our couple of days in Cape Town, and eat out at The Millers Thumb very well on recommendation from Natalie.
We were treated like regulars, despite visiting only once prior, and I would recommend Floreal House to anyone visiting Cape Town, a beautiful location with fantastic service.
Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for a week during a business and pleasure trip to South Africa. This is a fantastic hotel/guest house! It is a converted colonial-type house, with high ceilings, wood beams and a general airy feel. The rooms are huge and very luxurious. Some rooms (2 & 3) have amazing views out over Cape Town and Devil's peak. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfasts are cooked to order. I can think of no negative points about this place.

Room Tip: go for rooms 2 & 3 if they're available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is the perfect place to start a holiday in Cape Town and the Garden Route, and one could not fault Floreal House in its position at the foot of Table Mountain. The staff are exceptional and the facilities perfect, the breakfast is superb and the daily snack menu very suitable for during the day. Our only criticism is that without a car it is a long walk down into Cape Town and even more of a hike back up hill!!! It really is necessary to have a car at Floreal House from Day 1. It is an ideal base for any holiday in the area. We could not recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which was fine, very well equipped. Other rooms in the building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 155 in Cape Town Central
257 reviews
Cultivar Guest Lodge
#8 of 51 in Stellenbosch
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
#84 of 155 in Cape Town Central
79 reviews
City Bowl
De Tafelberg Guesthouse
De Tafelberg Guesthouse
#61 of 155 in Cape Town Central
99 reviews
Number5 Guesthouse
#36 of 155 in Cape Town Central
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floreal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreal House

Property: Floreal House
Address: 26 Upper Orange Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R1 490 - R1 555
Hotel Class:4 star — Floreal House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Floreal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing