We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect guesthouse”
Review of Floreal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Floreal House
Ranked #61 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect guesthouse”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This guesthouse is amazing!Such friendly people, who make your stay comfortable. Location at de foot of table mountain and a few min drive to the center. Great atmosphere, delicious breakfast. We really would come here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanjaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
43
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

A lovely setting, spotlessly clean, excellent food, friendly staff and the most amazingly comfortable pillows on the huge king sized bed. Our every wish was met, it really was service with a smile. The food was really good and, although we won our stay as a prize, we did, of course, look up to see how much things would have cost us ... and everything was very reasonably priced. Despite it being the middle of the SA winter the pool looked very inviting. The view of Table Mountain from our room window was spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed at this guest house for 2 nights - the 19th and 20th February 2010.

Floreal House is situated in the extremely pleasant suburb of Oranjezicht, which has a truly relaxed feel about it. Wide tree-lined roads, beautiful large houses (many of them converted into guest houses), and with a backdrop of Table Mountain and views over the city. Quite simply, all these combine successfully to give you a real ‘feel good’ factor about being in Cape Town. .

The guest house itself has 9 rooms, and my tip would be to ask for one of the ‘new’ rooms. Some of the rooms have been refurbished recently, and the decor is terrific - stylish and contemporary. The older rooms (which are still awaiting refurbishment) are still extremely comfortable and pleasant, but they lack the ‘wow’ factor that the new styled rooms give.

There is a small pool area, with sun loungers and tables, and offers a perfect setting for relaxing with a bottle of cold wine which can be purchased from the superb deli on the opposite corner - Carluccio’s.

The breakfasts were modest but enjoyable - a selection of juices, cereals and cold meats and cheese, and fruit and yogurts - and there was a menu from which you could also order hot food from too.

There is space for 4 cars inside the gates, otherwise you can park on the street (which is perfectly safe, but do make sure that you don’t leave anything on show in your car - so don’t leave maps / coats / hats on back seats or on parcel shelves - just to be on the safe side).

It is a 5 minute taxi ride to get you to Kloof Street, with its variety of restaurants and bars, and about a 10 minute taxi ride down to the Waterfront or over the Kloofnek Pass to Camps Bay. We walked down to the Waterfront - it took about an hour - but I would definately not advise walking back late at night - always take a taxi.

Natalie, who is the front of house manager, is a delight to deal with - extremely friendly and efficient.

All in all, a great place to stay - either at the start of your trip or at the end, and also either for first-timers or repeat visitors to Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This was our first stay in South Africa. Nathalie and her staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. There were 4 of us staying and we had 2 rooms on the lower floor. Both were roomy and comfortable, with a large bathroom. one was closer to the front of the hotel and the road junction, so could be a little noisy. Breakfast was served in a lovely light, airy dining room. There was masses to choose from and the quality was very good. There was a small pool which was nonetheless very refreshing after a day out sighseeing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie3624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We have just returned from a trip to South Africa and Floreal House was the first place that we stayed during our trip.

The hotel is very conveniently located - approx a 10/15 minute drive away from both the Waterfront and Table Mountain, and not much farther from other areas such as Camps Bay too. We had a lovely view from our bedroom window.

Our bedroom was very comfortable, and despite our slight concerns about the security in Cape Town following various warnings before we arrived, we felt completely safe at Floreal House. The car could be parked off the road behind locked gates and security were on hand 24/7. There was even a panic button in the bedroom.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfasts were very good - lots of choice with both a cold buffet and hot breakfasts available.

There were some alterations taking place when we stayed - probably due to our arriving early on in the season - which did mean that we came across the odd screwdriver on the stairs and there was some banging about quite late at night. But I would imagine this was a one-off and probably wouldn't be the case if you were staying during peak season.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — The service from the staff
  • Disliked — The alterations taking place
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLW2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
534 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#21 of 109 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cultivar Guest Lodge
#8 of 54 in Stellenbosch
112 reviews
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse
#21 of 156 in Cape Town Central
429 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floreal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreal House

Property: Floreal House
Address: 26 Upper Orange Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R1 478 - R1 531
Hotel Class:4 star — Floreal House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Floreal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing