We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$161
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$190
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$66
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
52
31
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
31
10
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2010

A lovely setting, spotlessly clean, excellent food, friendly staff and the most amazingly comfortable pillows on the huge king sized bed. Our every wish was met, it really was service with a smile. The food was really good and, although we won our stay as a prize, we did, of course, look up to see how much things would have cost us ... and everything was very reasonably priced. Despite it being the middle of the SA winter the pool looked very inviting. The view of Table Mountain from our room window was spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed at this guest house for 2 nights - the 19th and 20th February 2010.

Floreal House is situated in the extremely pleasant suburb of Oranjezicht, which has a truly relaxed feel about it. Wide tree-lined roads, beautiful large houses (many of them converted into guest houses), and with a backdrop of Table Mountain and views over the city. Quite simply, all these combine successfully to give you a real ‘feel good’ factor about being in Cape Town. .

The guest house itself has 9 rooms, and my tip would be to ask for one of the ‘new’ rooms. Some of the rooms have been refurbished recently, and the decor is terrific - stylish and contemporary. The older rooms (which are still awaiting refurbishment) are still extremely comfortable and pleasant, but they lack the ‘wow’ factor that the new styled rooms give.

There is a small pool area, with sun loungers and tables, and offers a perfect setting for relaxing with a bottle of cold wine which can be purchased from the superb deli on the opposite corner - Carluccio’s.

The breakfasts were modest but enjoyable - a selection of juices, cereals and cold meats and cheese, and fruit and yogurts - and there was a menu from which you could also order hot food from too.

There is space for 4 cars inside the gates, otherwise you can park on the street (which is perfectly safe, but do make sure that you don’t leave anything on show in your car - so don’t leave maps / coats / hats on back seats or on parcel shelves - just to be on the safe side).

It is a 5 minute taxi ride to get you to Kloof Street, with its variety of restaurants and bars, and about a 10 minute taxi ride down to the Waterfront or over the Kloofnek Pass to Camps Bay. We walked down to the Waterfront - it took about an hour - but I would definately not advise walking back late at night - always take a taxi.

Natalie, who is the front of house manager, is a delight to deal with - extremely friendly and efficient.

All in all, a great place to stay - either at the start of your trip or at the end, and also either for first-timers or repeat visitors to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This was our first stay in South Africa. Nathalie and her staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. There were 4 of us staying and we had 2 rooms on the lower floor. Both were roomy and comfortable, with a large bathroom. one was closer to the front of the hotel and the road junction, so could be a little noisy. Breakfast was served in a lovely light, airy dining room. There was masses to choose from and the quality was very good. There was a small pool which was nonetheless very refreshing after a day out sighseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie3624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We have just returned from a trip to South Africa and Floreal House was the first place that we stayed during our trip.

The hotel is very conveniently located - approx a 10/15 minute drive away from both the Waterfront and Table Mountain, and not much farther from other areas such as Camps Bay too. We had a lovely view from our bedroom window.

Our bedroom was very comfortable, and despite our slight concerns about the security in Cape Town following various warnings before we arrived, we felt completely safe at Floreal House. The car could be parked off the road behind locked gates and security were on hand 24/7. There was even a panic button in the bedroom.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfasts were very good - lots of choice with both a cold buffet and hot breakfasts available.

There were some alterations taking place when we stayed - probably due to our arriving early on in the season - which did mean that we came across the odd screwdriver on the stairs and there was some banging about quite late at night. But I would imagine this was a one-off and probably wouldn't be the case if you were staying during peak season.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLW2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

This was our first time to South Africa & Cape Town and we chose this hotel from the internet and booked direct. The booking was easy and the service was excellent.

As we approached Floreal House for the first time we had a great view of Table Mountain. At first we were apprehensive because their was security at the hotel and we were not used to this but in fact it was great as we always felt safe and in fact never had any concerns. The great thing was that we were able to park off road behind locked gates.

The hotel is an old property but was maintained in a great condition and the fixtures and fittings were of very good quality. We were immediately made to feel welcome by all the staff from the management, the maids and security.

Floreal House is a great location for all the attractions of Cape Town and is within minutes of Table Mountain & the Waterfront.
We had great views from our room over Cape Town. We enjoyed Floreal House so much that on our return to Cape Town at the end of our holiday we cancelled the hotel we had booked and returned to our freinds at Floreal House. This time we had a room over looking Table Mountain. A wonderful end to a great holiday.

Finally Thank You Natalie & all your staff for your help and advise, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were great as were all your staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Findales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews