We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great casual city small hotel”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Cape Cadogan at the very end of a long holiday. The hotel has a terrific central location - we walked to several popular city spots from there. They have a delicious breakfast and very nice helpful staff. The rooms are comfortable and clean. A nice small pool area however my travel companion had the suite and that has a private terrace and pool exclusive to the room - I recommend it for perfect, private down time to relax.
Also they gladly did a huge favour for us concerning our luggage and it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: The Suite - private area , large room, exclusive pool and terrace, great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bobthouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my parents had a fantastic time in Cape Cadogan. Very beautiful rooms, nice breakfast, lovely garden/terrace and most important of all: very friendly and helpful staff!
I forgot my passport during my stay in the safe and they e-mailed me and kept it safe until I returned.
Thank you very much!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Steffi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did not deliver on service, no amenities on property, some rooms were very noisy so sleep was disrupted. Staff needs better training. I received better service at the Cape Hilton than at this boutique property. Constant mistakes on tours, times for pickup, room quality, etc. better places to stay in Cape Town on my next visit.

Room Tip: Do not take a room near the reception area. You will hear all types of noise and if there is a guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mymail1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed in this hotel at the end of our 3 week holiday around South Africa.
It was a charming hotel in a great location with friendly helpful staff.
The rooms were of a good size with good facilities we had a lovely terrace.
Breakfast was provided with a good choice of hot and cold dishes.
The curtesy shuttle to the Waterfront was useful and we made use of this.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Small, welcoming hotel with large, well appointed luxury rooms. Great location with views of Table Mountain and close to many restaurants and shops. Very helpful staff arranged free transfers to Table Mountain and the V&A Waterfront. Wonderful breakfast included in the tariff.

Room Tip: Each room is different and most are upstairs, but the staff will assist with luggage, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tryasmile2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 440 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 3 045 - R 6 289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing