We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful experience”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

OMG what can I say about this hotel. Everything about the hotel is just perfect. We stayed in room 1 which was breathtaking every touch was just perfect from the gorgeous fragrance you could smell when you opened the door to the weather report left on your bed for the following day with a chocolate and fresh bottle of water left on the bedside table. The beds were so comfortable. The breakfast was just perfect with excellent service from ALL of the staff who couldn’t do enough for us to ensure our stay was perfect. The hotel offered a shuttle service which was based on availability but we had no problem arranging a lift on the both nights we were there. Darren on reception was great at organising online bookings for table mountain unfortunately the weather was too windy so the cable cars were suspended but tickets are valid for one week and will give you a refund at the ticket office if tickets aren’t used. Lots of eating places around the hotel and there is a pub next door that offer good meals if you don’t want to travel far. We will definitely return to this hotel thanks so much!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tai5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A great base to explore Cape Town from. Small enough so the staff can really care about you. Just off Klopp Street, on a quite Street so no road noise. Breakfast had everything from fresh fruit, home made musli and cooked breakfasts that really set you up for a day of sight seeing. With a coffee maker and fire in the room at nigh, what’s not to love

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z1ggy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We stayed at this charming friendly hotel for 4 nights after we had driven the Garden Route.
Situated in a nice area with loads of restaurants nearby in Kloof Street. The hotel had 24 hour security guards present.
We ate out on 4 nights and would highly recommend Kloof House and The Black Sheep restaurants. The food was fantastic and both had a lovely atmosphere.

The staff at the hotel were super helpful and friendly and made sure we enjoyed our stay. It was lovely having a ore-dinner drink in front of the open fire and chatting to other guests about their travels.
Breakfast was wonderful.
A perfect place to stay in Capetown

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robingraham02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during our two weeks stay in South Africa.
It’s a beautiful boutique hotel just off of Kloof street.
I had booked a premium room, the first room we where shown was beautiful with a massive bathroom and nice outside terrace, but a little dark inside.
I asked if they had a brighter room and our luck was in as they showed us a first floor room which was lovely and light and still had a small terrace.
Drinks were served early evening in the drawing room(we never got back in time to enjoy this complimentary service) but we did get to use the honesty bar in the drawing room.

We managed to have one of our breakfasts outside in the garden terrace.
We never got to use the pool as the weather was too cold.

We had a lovely time here, everyone was super friendly.

Only a couple of niggles.
We were recommended a restaurant for dinner on our first evening that was closed and the other choice which I suggested, was also closed but the lady at reception did not seem to know this when I asked her opinion on my choice for dinner.

One other niggle and it reminds me of the saying of the late Michael Winner ( sometime food critic) who said I never give a food order unless the person writes it down.
Twice my breakfast order was incorrect when received and although lovely, I never during my 4 breakfasts here received my eggs done as requested.
It may seem a minor point but the main meal they serve is breakfast, and if they can’t get your preferences right then don’t offer a choice.

Anyway I digress, the room was beautiful, the staff super friendly, the hotel is well located.
Would I stay here again.
Yes, in heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We spent 4 nights in August in a room at the end of the upstairs hall which was spacious, nicely decorated, but old. The windows didn't seal properly, they blew open one night in strong winds. We had to get the front desk staff up to close a bathroom window at 4am. The hotel offered nice touches, like hot water bottles in the bed at night, port and glasses in the room and a cozy fireplace and wine in the lobby each night. Staff were very accommodating and the breakfast was excellent. The location was good, the property was quiet. Upgrades to lights in the room and rubber grip mats in the shower would be appreciated. The bathroom tile floor is quite dangerous when wet.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 430 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2 097 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 797 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
459 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R3 168 - R6 069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing