We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Standard
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$267
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$787
US$747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
463
146
21
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
146
21
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housegreen pointlovely guesthousequiet arearelaxing staywithin walking distancedinner reservationsevery morningnice breakfastyogurtspecial thanksrooms are spaciousrental carnice roomgreat place to staycooked breakfastsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed at the Cape Standard for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our brief time there. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, and there was parking right out front for our rental car. Though it was on the chilly side while we were there so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor spaces as much as we otherwise would have, there was a nice pool and a lovely and nicely furnished deck area. The best part of our stay was probably the breakfast, and particularly the very friendly service provided by Paddington.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SSMA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeStandard, Manager at Cape Standard, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you for your kind words. We have a wonderful team here at the guest house who do their very best to make sure our guests are well looked after. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

The Cape Standard Guesthouse is a calm B&B at Green Point with beautyful small garden and nice pool-aera. We were welcome very friendly with recommendations for seightseeing and restaurants. Comfortable rooms, tasty breakfast, good service.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mirjana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeStandard, Manager at Cape Standard, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you real soon again. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Awesome funky place, good breakfast, friendly staff! Nice ambience in the general lounge area and breakfast around the pool minus the wind is great. Greenpoint is ideal location to walk around to grab a meal !

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank JustyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeStandard, Manager at Cape Standard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

It is always a great feeling to hear how guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

A beautiful little guest house, where you just feel like home from the moment you check in and just a 10 min walk away from where the action is. A warm and friendly team assists you almost at any time for planning sightseeing trips, restaurant reservations etc. David & his team Margot, Jonathan and Paddington in the morning are real nice people.

Room Tip: book the upper store rooms in main house or in the villa
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uweschneiderberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeStandard, Manager at Cape Standard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review. Our team here at the guest house is wonderful and do their very best to make sure that guests make the most of their time here in Cape Town with all our hot tips and great restaurants. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We recently went to Capetown and stayed at a small hotel called Cape Standard. I can not say enough good things about this place. The place itself was charming, beautiful and convenient but what really made it so great was the staff. We checked in and Jonathan was ready to make everything happen. He helped us figure out what hikes we should do, where to go shopping and where we should eat lunch. It was all great advice and we made the most out of our 3 days thanks to him. The rooms are lovely, so tasteful and trendy that I couldn't leave without finding the hand woven blanket we had on our room so I could take one home. The owner was so lovely and helpful and his assistant, Margot, made you feel like you had been friends forever. The breakfast there was something to actually look forward to. Again, such lovely staff and the garden where you eat was so charming. I can't say enough good things about the Cape Standard. Staying there made my experience in CapeTown so positive. It's a small, comfortable and luxurious place with a helpful staff you can ask anything! LOVED IT!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeStandard, Manager at Cape Standard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Thank you for your kind words. It is always such a wonderful feeling to hear how guests have enjoyed our product and their stay with us. We are so proud to be a part of such a great team who work hard to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable while they staying with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews