We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch 22 dinner for two”

Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar
Ranked #68 of 1 226 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Catch22 is a beachside grille with a touch of class. A surf and turf ocean-front dining experience where the steaks and seafood are both so good you're in a Catch 22 as to which to order! Fortunately for you, here you can have your steak and eat it too! A light seafood starter, followed by a grilled-to-perfection steak, or a combo of both allows you the best of both worlds in one sitting. Al-fresco inspired casual dining in a fresh, effortlessly styled environment indicative of coastal living. Good wines & modern cocktails, fresh ingredients, friendly hospitality & a sea view combine to offer an enjoyable, relaxed, linger-longer atmosphere. Whether you and a friend wish to catch up over brunch, a light seafood salad or sushi; you and a colleague are in need of an after-work cocktail or three accompanied by light finger foods and chilled music; or you and the family are in the mood for a mouth-watering evening meal of prawns and a perfectly grilled steak, you can call them up and say "Meet me at Catch22!"
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Wife and I shared excellent Salmon Sashimi 2 for price of 1 starters and main courses of Ribs & Prawn and Rump and Mussel combo. Accompanied buy a very nice Sauvignon blanc. Finished of with two Kalua Dom Pedro's and two Jamesons Irish cofees

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Johanvza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Manager at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you Johanvza for the great review. The captain and the crew are thrilled to have made such an impression.Judging from what you selected from our menu you had the total " CATCH 22" experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Excellent Oysters and Mozambique Prawns. Very Yum. Would recommend it any day. Husband had Prawn and Chicken Curry. Delicious.

Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Sandy C. Thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience!! Glad you got a bit of surf and turf in on your meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Often go to catch 22 but really put out as the last 2 times we went they had NO VEGETABLES ie no spinach and no butternut!! For a restaurant of this calibre it was astonashing - the owner said they had run out!! So for me being a non-carb eater I did not know what to eat! I did not feel like a salad in the middle of Winter!! Eventually the owner did manage to bring me something but it was like a salad. Such a pity as the seafood especially the prawns are usually delicious. Please make sure you order sufficient vegetables in future!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanne0180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Good day Joanne0180. We thank you for the feedback, and are indeed sorry for the inconvenience caused during your dining experience. We do our utmost to be as prepared as possible, however there are a few factors that come into play. It is not that management under orders stock, but more so that we strive on serving fresh produce, which means only small batches of veg are cooked up at a time. A batch of spinach takes about 1 hour to cook, and butternut 2 hours. On days that our veg deliveries are late this causes further trouble, leading to the kitchen only being able to start cooking up a fresh batch of veg later than usual, which would lead to veg possibly being unavailable for the first hour or two of lunch service. Other instances where we do run out is towards the end of service, close to kitchen close, especially after a busy day of service. I am glad to hear that management did their best to rectify the situation by offering you some fresh stir-fry veggies. We do hope that you will be able to enjoy our fresh veg of the day on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

So yesterday 18/06/17 I took my family out for lunch to celebrate fathers day, it was our first visit at Catch 22 and definitely not our last. When we got there we were greeted very friendly and our waiter was on point. We asked him for a nice cocktail so he bring us the Catch 23 cocktail and damn it was goooood!! We ordered starters and mains and it was so delicious. I was very impressed and there is really nothing I can fault them on. Well done!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnaMarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi AnnaMarie. Firstly, thank you for choosing to celebrate a special occasion with us, and secondly for sharing your enjoyable experience with us and others. Glad your waiter could recommend you one of tasty cocktails! We sincerely appreciate the feedback and look forward to a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Great restaurant with friendly informed staff. Stunning to sit on the deck with one of the imaginative cocktails, look at table mountain and eat one of the many yummy meals.
Sushi was fresh and tasty. Cocktails were interesting and the waitrons were able to advise what is yummiest.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maxprella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Maxprella, thank you so much for the great feedback. Wonderful to hear from customers that our waiters are informed and offer great recommendations. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Table View, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing