We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Cocktails, food and service!!”

Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar
Ranked #78 of 1 288 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Catch22 is a beachside grille with a touch of class. A surf and turf ocean-front dining experience where the steaks and seafood are both so good you're in a Catch 22 as to which to order! Fortunately for you, here you can have your steak and eat it too! A light seafood starter, followed by a grilled-to-perfection steak, or a combo of both allows you the best of both worlds in one sitting. Al-fresco inspired casual dining in a fresh, effortlessly styled environment indicative of coastal living. Good wines & modern cocktails, fresh ingredients, friendly hospitality & a sea view combine to offer an enjoyable, relaxed, linger-longer atmosphere. Whether you and a friend wish to catch up over brunch, a light seafood salad or sushi; you and a colleague are in need of an after-work cocktail or three accompanied by light finger foods and chilled music; or you and the family are in the mood for a mouth-watering evening meal of prawns and a perfectly grilled steak, you can call them up and say "Meet me at Catch22!"
Reviewed 19 June 2017

So yesterday 18/06/17 I took my family out for lunch to celebrate fathers day, it was our first visit at Catch 22 and definitely not our last. When we got there we were greeted very friendly and our waiter was on point. We asked him for a nice cocktail so he bring us the Catch 23 cocktail and damn it was goooood!! We ordered starters and mains and it was so delicious. I was very impressed and there is really nothing I can fault them on. Well done!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnaMarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi AnnaMarie. Firstly, thank you for choosing to celebrate a special occasion with us, and secondly for sharing your enjoyable experience with us and others. Glad your waiter could recommend you one of tasty cocktails! We sincerely appreciate the feedback and look forward to a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

Great restaurant with friendly informed staff. Stunning to sit on the deck with one of the imaginative cocktails, look at table mountain and eat one of the many yummy meals.
Sushi was fresh and tasty. Cocktails were interesting and the waitrons were able to advise what is yummiest.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maxprella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Maxprella, thank you so much for the great feedback. Wonderful to hear from customers that our waiters are informed and offer great recommendations. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I loved the chili poppers and california rolls! Every time I have been here i have really enjoyed the food and it seems others do too because they are always full! Full of people with full tummies! Not the friendliest staff...

1  Thank YajnaGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Good day Yajna G. Thank you for the great feedback on the food! We're so glad you enjoyed and hope you'll return soon for more. We're sorry to hear that you did not find our hospitality to be the friendly service we pride ourselves on. We do hope that this will be rectified on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We didn't book a table but we were lucky. The food was excellent and the staff were very efficient and friendly- no hesitation in recommending this fish restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi John T, thank you so much for the fin-tastic feedback! We're thrilled we could accommodate you with a table, and that you found it to be worth your while! We hope you'll venture to the meat side of the menu on a future visit as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

It does not look much from outside as it is upstairs but once there it has a cool vibe without being stuffy or too pretentious. Attentive service and willing to please. Wife had tuna. Kids shared a steak and I had fillet of beef which was a little on the pink side for a medium to well done but tasted delicious. Prepared to overlook the steak as the bill was great value considering we had some great well priced SA red wine to go with it. Recommend if you are in the Table View/Bloubergstrand/Big Bay Area and looking for great food nicely located.

Thank Jonny901london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Jonny901london thank you so much for the great feedback! Much appreciated. Please in future, if you find your meat to be either a little under- or over-done do not hesitate to bring it to management's attention. We will happily have the kitchen rectify their error.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing