We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sushi special on Thursdays”

Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar
Ranked #81 of 1 288 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Catch22 is a beachside grille with a touch of class. A surf and turf ocean-front dining experience where the steaks and seafood are both so good you're in a Catch 22 as to which to order! Fortunately for you, here you can have your steak and eat it too! A light seafood starter, followed by a grilled-to-perfection steak, or a combo of both allows you the best of both worlds in one sitting. Al-fresco inspired casual dining in a fresh, effortlessly styled environment indicative of coastal living. Good wines & modern cocktails, fresh ingredients, friendly hospitality & a sea view combine to offer an enjoyable, relaxed, linger-longer atmosphere. Whether you and a friend wish to catch up over brunch, a light seafood salad or sushi; you and a colleague are in need of an after-work cocktail or three accompanied by light finger foods and chilled music; or you and the family are in the mood for a mouth-watering evening meal of prawns and a perfectly grilled steak, you can call them up and say "Meet me at Catch22!"
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This restaurant never fails to impress, the staff are excellent and we've been visiting there for almost 4 years now and have never had a bad experience.
The sushi special of thursdays is possibly the best in town and the sushi is always freshly made to perfection.
The feesh and ships are always excellent too , as is the kingklip, but so is almost anything you order..
The cocktails are great too - try the hibiscus gin and tonic, you definitely wont be sorry.
Cant wait for thursday to come around so that I can go again...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi Vivienne D! As always, thank you for your on-going support and offering us such great feedback! Just a friendly reminder that the sushi special is on hiatus from Dec - Feb, when sushi chef Kenny will have his hands very full, but will be returning in March 2017. We have some new flavoured Fin & Tonics on the cocktail menu, so be sure to come test them out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Brilliant experience. Food was absolutely divine! Ask for Kingstone! The best waiter we have come across in a very long time! A true asset to Catch 22!

Thank CinziaC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you so much for the glowing review of your experience and waiter Kingstone Cinzia C! Will be sure to pass the compliments on to him!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

If you like seafood - don't miss this.

They have something for everyone. The menu is extensive with ordinary hake and chips, hake combos, platters of most combinations featuring shellfish, calamari and fish, whilst there are the skillfully prepared quality offerings of speciality linefish.
Not only that, they have steak and a whole range of surf-and-turf type steak and seafood options.

The pricing is good - beating the Ocean Basket franchise whilst the quality is excellent.

The atmosphere and furnishings are informal and slightly rugged (a bit garden furniture-ish) and we had more than one waitron. But that sort of highlighted the no-nonsense style of quality.

An excellent meal at reasonable prices. I can't expect more, so will give it the full 5.

Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi Andrew B! Thank you for the fin-tastic feedback! We definitely do believe that the food, friendly hospitality and fab guests (and the view of course) are the shining stars of Catch, but when and where possible we will look at doing upgrades to the interior as we continue on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Took some friends for lunch and they all agreed that this restaurant serves the best fish and chips in Cape Town. Where else do you get hand-cut chips that are golden and crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. The hake is fresh and the calamari is just so tender. This is why I've come back so many times. Try their sushi special on a Thursday evening and the seared tuna is fantastic.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi Roy! Once again, it is returning guests such as yourself having great experiences which make it so worthwhile for us! We definitely take it as a great compliment to be 'voted' best fish & chips in town! Just a friendly reminder our sushi special goes on hiatus from Dec-Feb, when it becomes a tad too busy for sushi chef Kenny to keep up, but the special will be back on as of March 2017!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Amazing food whether it be seafood or meat, excellent service from staff. The owner is always present,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KeatonG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22Grille, Owner at Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you for the thumbs-up Keaton G! We will always be hands-on owners and motivate our crew to continue presenting a great experience for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing