We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem at the real heart of Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Prior to a business trip to Johannesburg, was able to spend a few (all too short) days in Cape Town. Dirk, Michael and Doris could not have been more welcoming. It was home from home, and more luxurious. A real treat to be looking up into Table Mountain and 'downtown' Cape Town and the bay; wonderful views, very comfortable bedroom, beautiful furnishings and great breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble; guidance on trips and ideas and thoughts about how best to do those, all of them worked out very well. The location in a beautiful neighbourhood made you feel a part of the community, rather than being stuck in a soulless hotel, that frankly could be anywhere in the world. Cannot recommend Abbey Manor highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatzRme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2015

This is an excellent place to stay in Cape Town, close to all the sights and a mere 5 min drive to V&A Waterfront. The owners will help you settle in and book any excursion/restaurant you may wish to visit. Definitely recommended

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We used this place as a base as we explored Africa, zooming in and out, a few days at a time. The rooms are all very lovely, some with cosy balconies others with luxurious tubs. The beds are big and comfy, and the breakfast is awesome. Unfortunately our schedules start really early in the day so we didn't have the luxury of having a nice slow breakfast in the dining room, but the one day that we did, it was great.
A little shop by the corner with meals and grocery if you need anything.
The service is excellent, they gave me a spare toothbrush as I left mine in the last hotel and I was zipping off for a safari trip next. They also manage to get us a reservation at the test kitchen with only one day notice. Awesome!

Room Tip: Every room is different. Let them know your preference for tubs, balconies etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wheichern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We had booked on line several months before arriving in Cape Town. We had a few questions about our stay, during the intervening months, and each time we contacted them the answer was prompt. The owners, Dirk & Doris, and the Manager of the B&B Anja are very helpful and courteous and so is their staff. They were very accommodating for each of our requests, and personally ensured we were comfortable.
We had such a sumptuous breakfast each morning, it took us a long way into the day before we thought about food again! The views from there were excellent - I have attached a photo. One thing to note is it is not close to where we spent the evenings, but that also made for nice, quiet times when we were "home."
Abbey Manor and the people there will be a major reason for us to visit Cape Town again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usk1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Loved this B&B! Dirk, Ania & the rest of the staff are extremely accommodating, offer great suggestions for hiking and sightseeing, and the breakfast options were really great. We enjoyed the visit to CapeTown immensely and would love to go back!

Room Tip: We had Room 1 which had a great view of the city as well as Table Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 112 in Cape Town Central
442 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
409 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1 057 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse

Address: 3 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 905 - R 3 483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Manor is a luxury guesthouse set high on the foothills of Table Mountain, overlooking the splendor of Cape Town. Centrally located, Abbey Manor offers sumptuous rooms - each individually decorated - offering dramatic views of the city, ocean, or majestic mountains, and cater to the highest level of comfort. Offering free WiFi Internet connection, gourmet breakfast, every room air-conditioned and unique, secluded solar heated swimming pool, airport pickup and drop off. Built more than a hundred years ago, Abbey Manor imparts an immediate feeling of grandeur and old-world charm, therefore we do not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing