We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Different - Nice Experience”

Truth Coffee Cape Town
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Truth Coffee is first and foremost a coffee roastery. We pride ourselves on artisan coffee. Secondly it is a steampunk cafe, named by MSN Travel UK's Tom Midlane, the best coffee shop in the world" and the Guardian Newspaper said, "Probably the coolest cafe in the World" At night, TRUTH. After Dark comes alive - setting the stage for late-night dessert dining with a hint of the theatrical, directed by our Paris-born, Michelin star-forged master pastry chef: “I’m bringing an experience to the plate. It’s going to be intriguing.” — Kamal Hamzaoui. Join us Tuesdays to Saturdays between 6 pm and midnight for a selection of exquisite, luxury desserts—the perfect compliment to our world-famous coffee, and a toast to your impeccable taste for the best that Cape Town has to offer when the lights go dim.
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had found this via Tripadvisor as one of the must visit places in Cape Town. Made this a destination experience and found easy enough although not mainstream area. Next to Mavericks in case you need to know ;-) Worthwhile visiting just for the décor and the ambiance. The coffee and service was very good and couldn't be faulted. Did find price a deterent with coffee being almost 100% more expensive than on the top of table mountain or at the V&A Waterfront. R32.50 per coffee is excessive and sadly cost them the 1 star.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank miket8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1 349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 162 - 1 166 of 1 349 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great experience, a place where they are roasting their own beans and where you are served by a guy in hat and tails! Unfortunately i only went for coffee but i wish i could have stayed to try some of the food, looked pretty good!!!

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2013

What a wonderful experience. Not only the coffee, but the food, the ambiance and most importantly....the service. The staff made us feel welcome and the general feel of this world renowned and famous little jewel was execeptional. Definately not the last visit!!

Date of visit: November 2013
1  Thank CharlL598
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As a Capetonian, and a coffee shop afficiondo, I had heard such wonderful things about Truth that I thought I had better go along and see what all the fuss was about.

The coffee was great, but what a rip-off salad we had. My friend and I both ordered the same salad nicoise and each plate arrived with four tiny squares of tuna amid a bed of lettuce. I don't remember the price, but I think it was about R80 per salad - a crazy amount for what we got. Very disappointing. We'll go back to Truth for the coffee, but won't eat there again.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gary_CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What an experience! Mind-boggling feast for the eyes and taste buds. Superb coffee an imaginative breakfast dishes make this one of the most interesting coffee shops in the world! See my Facebook page for photos.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wolfgang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Truth Coffee Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Truth Coffee Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.