We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$38
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/25
Agoda.comUS$38
Hotels.comUS$44
Booking.comUS$47
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
56
113
115
38
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
113
115
38
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table mountain tired and in need rooms are clean bars and restaurants minute walk central location waterfront supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2020

Although the hotel is a little tired and in need of a revamp this was more than made up for by the friendliness of the staff and excellent breakfasts.

We stayed on two occasions at the start and end of our trip to South Africa and on the first occasion we had a large room which was clean and tidy (if a little tatty) and there were niggling things like the toilet not flushing properly.

The second room was much smaller but the beds were very comfortable and most importantly the rooms were kept very clean.

Good value and will definitely go back especially as the location is so good - situated just being the Mount Nelson Hotel

Room tip: Overlooking the swimming pool i.e. an inner room
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WingspanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2020 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and had an issue with our booking which was NOT the fault of the hotel. They assured us all will be fine and solved the problem very quickly.

Whenever we had any queries, they were eager to help. Nothing was ever too much trouble. All members of staff were very friendly.

We were very impressed with the breakfast menu and took advantage of it. The breakfast staff also helped to surprise my partner with a cake and champagne on his birthday.

I would definitely recommend staying with them and I’d be happy to return.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michaelvZ771FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

We were booked into the hotel for a night on our way to Montagu and then another night before flying home. The hotel is in serious need of a revamp. The bathrooms are tired with loose or missing rails, mouldy shower curtains. Carpet throughout are dirty. The reception on our return stay (a Mr Alex or Alexander) suffers from small man syndrome leading to an extremely frustrating stay. Were the hotel not booked and paid for we would have vacated the establishment. The only saving grace was the head chef who made some nice eggs in the morning.

Room tip: Try and avoid at all costs
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stevewendy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

What a gem. The staff are so lovely. I really enjoyed staying here. It was clean and affordable. It isn't the most glamorous of places, but I felt safe welcome and at home here. Will definitely be back. Was also a great spot for travelling to the argus starting point (cape town cycle tour).

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NatalieM3985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2020

I recently stayed at the hotel for 53 nights, at first very apprehensive on reading previous reviews. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised the room was spotlessly clean. Mavis our cleaner was fantastic. The food at the hotel is wonderful especially breakfast.
Management at the hotel Dian and Paul always on hand to assist if required.
Ideal base close to bars and restaurants.Will return again next year.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms best as no lift.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barryo680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews