We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #101 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was where we ended a group tour, and we stayed an extra three nights to see something of Cape Town. The hotel is in a quiet location but not far from Long Street with all its bars and restaurants. We were on bed and breakfast basis, and the breakfast was very good. Lots of hot and cold to choose from and eggs cooked to order. Tea and coffee and juices are also available by self service throughout the day. The hotel itself is probably overdue some TLC, but is comfortable. Our room was small compared to some of our friends but we managed OK. Nothing was any trouble for the staff, who were all very helpful and friendly. Wifi only available in the lobby and by a free voucher system. No lift available which wasn't a problem to me but could be for someone less able.

Room Tip: No lift so take care if less able. I think all rooms were upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rayatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017

My Stay at Lady hamilton was pleasant one. These are few positive sides.
1. It is located at a decent distance from much crowded Long Street. At the same time it is not very far also. Nice view of table mountain from hotel.
2. Well behaved, warm, courteous and accommodating staff. Once I had to leave early in the morning and requested the cook to pack my breakfast. She got it nicely packed on time i requested.

Room Tip: There is a street at back side. Avoid rooms on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank varun b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

It's old, yet very charming. The rooms has this welcoming feeling, overlooking the beautiful Table Mountain. DO NOT LET THE NEGATIVE reviews affects you. They don't want to pay, but expect 6-star level rooms with latest equipment and gadgetry. That is impossible!

The place is GREAT. There is nothing wrong with it.

The staff are very very friendly. The lady at the reception will help you with ANYTHING. Just let them know what you need, or where you want to go. She will pickup the phone and whatever your problem is, it will be sorted out.

I will be back to this place! The price is good, the breakfast is AWESOME, and again, the staff are really really good.

Room Tip: Choose the Table Mountain view. It's majestic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belamor Syabil ... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Stayed at the Lady Hamilton recently on a business trip and was rather disappointed in the condition of the hotel in relation to the price being paid.
While the employees were friendly and helpful one could not ignore that the building was old and needed some attention.
The room I stayed in was large with 2 single beds and small bathroom of which the most modern item was the TV. The rest of the room really cried for an update with a gap under the door large enough to fit a bulky envelope and an air conditioner that didn't quite know what it was suppose to do.
Breakfast was hearty with the most deliciously fresh croissants.
If you are self driving be aware that parking is an issue and the hotel apparently charges for parking on premises which is a mission - you park where you find space and with other guests parking as they see fit, this is a problem.
While the overall stay was not unpleasant I believe with a bit of care the hotel will be a better stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cornelius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This hotel is not the greatest hotel in Central Cape Town and is certainly not worthy of its 3-star rating. It is grubby and tatty. Upon entering the hotel you will immediately notice the dirty and torn carpets right in front of the reception desk. The welcome to the hotel was neither friendly or welcoming but rather just a function of taking your details, signing in, taking payment for your stay and handing you a key for your room. If you are on the upper floors you have to carry your luggage up trying not to touch the sticky dirty handrails. Along the passage to your room all the pictures are skew. Into one's room which I must admit is not too bad as it is fairly spacious and pretty clean albeit stains on the arm chair. The bedding appeared clean. The bed was another thing... thin and hard with a lean to the one side so one had to keep hanging on to prevent yourself from rolling to one side of the bed all night! The bathroom is small but functional however the shower cubicle has not seen any elbow grease for a while as it is a tad grimy. NOT ONE MENTION ANYWHERE IN THE ROOM OR BATHROOM ABOUT THE WATER CRISIS IN CAPE TOWN!
Breakfast is not to bad with a fair spread of breads, fresh fruit and warm dishes however the croissants were stale, the coffee poor and worst of all the floor dirty (not been swept and with liquid spills in one area), the chairs stained and woodwork sticky. Best of all upon entering the dining area there was a very tired looking waiter sitting on the counter with a draw pulled out as rest for her weary feet multi tasking by talking on her mobile phone while having a conversation with a fellow waiter all on top of their voices - we had little effect upon entering as they blatantly ignored us.
Checking out was a matter of handing in ones key having the tatty receptionist page through a grubby folio book, check to see if payment had been made without any invoice or thank you for you stay and simply carry with a private conversation that I had interrupted..
So, what could have been a wonderful stay was actually not great as it is evident that management has absolutely no control or input!

Room Tip: Cannot give any tips as I would never choose to return
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelProCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
71 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#107 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
City Bowl
Fritz Hotel
Fritz Hotel
#73 of 112 in Cape Town Central
267 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Address: 10 Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 863 - R 1 295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing