We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY HOTEL EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #36 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 week ago

Indeed i do find the experience I had very tasteful and satisfying in the Southern Sun Cape Sun hotel; this minus for the issue of being refused in room breakfast because it was not indicated by my travel agent when the booking was made

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank wongamag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear wongamag

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

Your feedback is of great value to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1 018 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You feel very special when you are there you are like their only client and you want to comeback for more and they know your needs before you even raise them and the solution is already prepared to make you even more happy

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank zwelibanzi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear zwelibanzi2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

I was delighted to receive your comment regarding the special service you received. I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the team as we always strive to provide our guests with a distinctive service. Your words were visibly heartening to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had reason to email the general manger of the hotel, Jacques Moolman, during my last stay at the Cape Sun. I said please and thank you. He never responded.
This tells you everything you need to know about the service at the Cape Sun.
Suffice to say that it's pretty awful.
The door to my hotel room doesn't work properly, only one lift works (in a 32-storey building) and it was quicker to order UberEats and than it was to wait for room service. Or service in the Le Bar and Lounge at all.
This is fairly extraordinary given that the last time I stayed the hotel I complained to Ryno Dippenaar about the really terrible service but refrained from saying so on TripAdvisor. He promised things would improve. They've gotten worse.
The accompanying pictures give you an idea of the restaurant in the hotel. There's not much more to add than tables overflowing with rubbish.
The Cape Sun in its heyday was Cape Town's most glamorous location with a nightclub, palm trees and Anneline Kriel in a Ferrrari. In 2018 it is a poorly managed, badly run embarrassment - starting from the top.
Would definitely not recommend it.
Finally, I'm a Tsogo Sun Black Card holder (the highest tier) - and if it's this bad for me - imagine how awful it must be for everyone else.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view but it doesn't excuse the awful service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Generally had a wonderful two days and two nights at the hotel. The taste of the sumptuous meals and the sweet wines will linger on for some time. Proximity to shops was a bonus as I could walk to and from the malls.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank stanelym2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, other at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear stanelym2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree that our location is very convenient to access all major attractions in Cape Town.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome!
Rooms were spacious
Food was good
Service at the restaurant needs to improve
Location was perfect for business meetings
Staff was always courteous
View from the rooms were amazing
It was a bit noisy on the outside at night

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank prenishad2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, other at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear preishad2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you had an awesome stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 162 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 830 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 084 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#35 of 112 in Cape Town Central
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Address: 23 Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 802 - R 5 267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing