We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 130)
Filter reviews
1 130 results
Traveller rating
521
413
139
36
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
413
139
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable mountainstrand streettsogo sunfree shuttleshuttle serviceroom servicelong streetwater frontper daybuffet breakfastenjoyed my stayexcellent hotelrooms are spaciousthe hotel offersbusiness hotelcentral locationhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 1 130 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I will always love to the again. You just have this royalty treatment. The staff members are well trained. You will think that you are not even in South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Tshililo Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Tshililo Albert M

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you find us to be a home away from home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

May you and your loved ones have a prosperous 2018.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

I had a fantastic room on the 15th floor with a room overlooking the city and the bay. The large window offers spectacular views, but parents of little ones beware - they open fully with no screens!
A sumptuous king bed with loads of pillows made for very pleasant sleeps for my 6 nights spent there.
The breakfast buffet is wonderful with friendly, attentive staff. Free shuttle service is offered to the Cape Sun Waterfront and to the Waterfront, itself.
The little lobby bar offers excellent coffees in the morning and becomes a nice spot for a cocktail in the evening.
There was a movie being filmed on the premises while we were there (Chris Evans spotted in the lounge filming late at night), but the hotel managed to make everything seem to happen seamlessly for us - no interruptions to our stay at all.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Brenda B

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun

We are absolutely delighted that you had a great stay with us and wish you and your loved ones a prosperous 2018.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

The Southern Sun in Cape Town is still good "old hotel". The lifts are fast... this is really good.

The Hotel is very central which is great. My only big concern was that there was too few waiters in the breakfast restaurant this morning.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Clinton C

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

Your feedback is of great value to us and allows us to improve on the services we offer our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Tsogo Strand Hotel Gym / Suite / over all Review.
Lovely dinner buffet
Excellent welcome
Courteous hospitality .
Lovely harbour views from my suite
Sumptious refreshments in hotel gym.
Friendly staff overall

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank sharmlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear sharmlad

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and wish you and your loved ones a prosperous 2018.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Friendly staff, clean environment in general, beautiful decorations, great menu. Shuttle service to Water Front. WIFI service. I saved more than 10GB. Beautiful view. The standard has exceeded my expectation.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank lizzym551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear lizzym551

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

We are absolutely delighted that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

May you and your loved ones have a prosperous 2018.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews