We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cape Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent service. Staff are friendly and courteous. Room was comfortable. Ideal location to get around City. Water restriction doesn't allow for relaxing shower. Fully understand the situation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Vms108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Vms108

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

I was delighted to receive your comments regarding the excellent service you received
and have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the team as we always strive to provide our guests with a distinctive service. Your words were visibly heartening to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1 001 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I will always love to the again. You just have this royalty treatment. The staff members are well trained. You will think that you are not even in South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Tshililo Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Tshililo Albert M

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you find us to be a home away from home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

May you and your loved ones have a prosperous 2018.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a fantastic room on the 15th floor with a room overlooking the city and the bay. The large window offers spectacular views, but parents of little ones beware - they open fully with no screens!
A sumptuous king bed with loads of pillows made for very pleasant sleeps for my 6 nights spent there.
The breakfast buffet is wonderful with friendly, attentive staff. Free shuttle service is offered to the Cape Sun Waterfront and to the Waterfront, itself.
The little lobby bar offers excellent coffees in the morning and becomes a nice spot for a cocktail in the evening.
There was a movie being filmed on the premises while we were there (Chris Evans spotted in the lounge filming late at night), but the hotel managed to make everything seem to happen seamlessly for us - no interruptions to our stay at all.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Brenda B

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun

We are absolutely delighted that you had a great stay with us and wish you and your loved ones a prosperous 2018.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Southern Sun in Cape Town is still good "old hotel". The lifts are fast... this is really good.

The Hotel is very central which is great. My only big concern was that there was too few waiters in the breakfast restaurant this morning.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Clinton C

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

Your feedback is of great value to us and allows us to improve on the services we offer our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Tsogo Strand Hotel Gym / Suite / over all Review.
Lovely dinner buffet
Excellent welcome
Courteous hospitality .
Lovely harbour views from my suite
Sumptious refreshments in hotel gym.
Friendly staff overall

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank sharmlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear sharmlad

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you had at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and wish you and your loved ones a prosperous 2018.


Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 124 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 805 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
116 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#36 of 112 in Cape Town Central
972 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Address: 23 Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 789 - R3 443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing