We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Its easy to get around through the My citi station which is nearby, supermarket and restaurants are close by, there is a shuttle to the V&A mall every hour and shuttle back every half hour. The staff is moderately friendly and is willing to assist especially the concierge staff.
the breakfast is good however the menu could be improved or alternated. my family was not impressed with the dinner menu, which lacks variety.

The rooms are nice and spacious ( we occupied two family room - with 2 double beds per room in the 19th floor). Both rooms had spectacular views of the mountains ; Table Mountain and the Lions Head mountain.
The bathrooms especially the toilets needs care. the toilet has accumulated disgusting dirt.

The hotel has a kids zone on the second floor which was minded by two young ladies who lacked proper control in terms of ensuring the kids are safe and do not wonder off. the place itself is just an open space and lacks playing equipment, movie area has just a 32cm television and pillows on the floor. The idea is nice however needs to be done right especial on the side of safety of children.

The hotel offers free WiFi, that is 500mb per day, anything beyond that is charged. I cant comment of the strength as neither of my family members used it.

Overall I enjoyed my stay I would use the hotel again and probably would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Sne K

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 1 003 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2017

I enjoyed my short stay with the unobstructed view of the Table Mountain. The stay was very comfortable; the food was great; the staff was very friendly despite the fact that at the time the hotel had full capacity.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Jane M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.
We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We really felt welcomed and the kids received sweets on arrival as well which made the check in process even smoother. The views from the lift were amazing and the mountain view from my room on the 29th floor was spectacular of Table Mountain especially during sunset and sunrise.
It's a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Astrid743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Astrid743

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

I was delighted to read that you and the kids felt welcomed during your stay and I fully agree that the views from our lifts are absolutely amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely room with gorgeous view! Service has been fabulous... I forgot all my toiletries and Housekeeping helped me out within minutes with a toothbrush kit.
Food has been delish too! Staff v helpful too!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Sandy K

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

I was delighted to receive your comments regarding the great service you received during your stay. I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the team as we always strive to provide our guests with a distinctive service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My husband made a booking for us at the Southern Sun Cape Sun hotel on Friday the 6th of January.We arrived at the hotel and tried to book in..The booking was cancelled by the booking agents and my husband then phoned them, as the booking was already paid.
I went to the bar lounge with ou luggage from where I kept an eye on them.. My heart was poundering.. I then saw my husband handing the phone over to the booking manager..Within a minute the problem was sorted out. We were booked into a nice double room on the 30th floor.. From the glass lifts we could have a view over the city.. Within seconds the lift took us where we want to be.. The room was luxerious with big windows and everything on hand that we needed.
We were notified that we have a shuttle which leave every hour to the Waterfront for us to make use of, as it was included in our package.. Unfortunately we already had been booked for a show at the Artscape and had to leave for the evening. We saw the musical "Annie" When we got back to the Hotel, we ordered room sevice as there were no time for supper..

The following morning we enjoyed a nice buffet breakfast. As the Sri Lanka cricket team and their family also stayed over in the hotel, my husband enjoyed it tremendously as he made a new friend with one of the players.
If I can summerize this stay in three words.. "NOT ENOUGH TIME" If you can, don't book a night only.. Book 2 nights. There is so much to expierence

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Aloma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Aloma C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Warm regards,
Ryno D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 126 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 807 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#83 of 112 in Cape Town Central
116 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
977 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Address: 23 Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 769 - R3 428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing