We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
433
66
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
66
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streettable mountainplunge poolcomplimentary portcafe paradisocul de sacthe black sheepgarden districthonor barour honeymoonsome great restaurantssmall toucheseach eveningfour nightsquiet locationlovely guesthousestayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

We were both incredibly impressed with all aspects of our stay at this guest house. The staff, without exception, were always very friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble, no matter how busy individuals happened to be. Customer services were unfailingly delivered with big smiles too!

Our room was large, attractive and always kept immaculately clean. In addition to this, freshly baked biscuits, a cafetière and ground coffee were available in each room which was a bonus! We were also lucky enough to enjoy picturesque views of Table mountain from our balcony and windows.

Full cooked and continental breakfasts were delicious with daily home baked breads and cakes on offer. A wide variety of very good restaurants are conveniently based
in Kloof Street, which is a short walk away from the premises.

Many thanks to you all for helping to make our stay in Cape Town so brilliant. We'll definitely be making a return visit in the future.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ebony150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Our freshly baked goods are a real tradition at Welgelegen and something we could not live without, we are so glad that you enjoyed them too! Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

This was our seventh year staying at Welgelegen. Always start our SA holiday with two or three days at this friendly, comfortable, boutique hotel. Staff can't do enough for you.
Hotel is at top end of Kloof, near some great restaurants, and close enough to stroll down into the centre. Highly recommend a stay here - haven't been disappointed yet.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Retired061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

We are so glad that you love Welgelegen as much as we do! Thank you for your wonderful review and we cannot wait to welcome you back when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

We stayed here for three nights in January 2018 as part of our honeymoon. There are cracking views of Table Mountain from the rooms and the hotel is nicely tucked away in a residential area, but still really close to Kloof Street where there are lot's of lovely restaurants and bars.

The breakfast is a little basic, however the peaceful setting and the helpful staff more than make up for this. In our case they went out of their way to help us with some washing when we were running really short on time.

There is a lovely courtyard area with a plunge pool, which is a little oasis where you can relax for an afternoon. We also had a lovely balcony with views over Cape Town, Lions Head and Signal Hill. To get down to the waterfront is a 10 minute taxi ride and similar to get to Camps Bay, so it really is well located for getting around Cape Town.

All in all a lovely stay and a good choice for people looking to stay a little off the beaten track and try some of the great restaurants around Kloof Street on foot!

Room Tip: Our room was in the new house and had great views as it's a little further up the hill.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

What a lovely review, thank you so much! Welgelegen is an urban sanctuary and we are so glad that you agree. We hope that you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Only one night in this small, boutique hotel, two houses, back to back, joined by the garden &pool. Casual but professional staff, Rm.1 was airy, comfortable bed, good accessories. Area not quite as bohemian as we expected, slightly run down but no problems whatsoever. Found through Tripadvisor .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nbsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Welgelegen and do hope that you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

A wonderful period property, nestled amid leafy Gardens suburbs streets, a stone's throw from the bustle and fun of Kloof Street and the foot of Table Mountain only minutes away. This was a perfect base for our 3-night stay in CT; lovely attentive staff, delicious breakfast, impeccable and comfortable rooms (ours came with a little lavender-fringed terrace). It felt like a home away from home, where you could come and go as you pleased. I would recommend it to anyone and happily return to it on a future trip to CT.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Owner at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Welgelegen is a home away from home and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you return for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews