We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous few days stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welgelegen Boutique Guest House
Ranked #15 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last leg of our SA holiday and so pleased we stayed at The Welgelegen, beautiful boutique Guest House in a great location. Tastefully decorated, friendly staff with nothing too much trouble. Great courtyard garden with pool and view of Table Mountain.......we would definitely return next time we are in CT. Thankyou team !

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank milkyway1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review! Welgelegen is truly located in an amazing part of Cape Town. We do hope that you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were both incredibly impressed with all aspects of our stay at this guest house. The staff, without exception, were always very friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble, no matter how busy individuals happened to be. Customer services were unfailingly delivered with big smiles too!

Our room was large, attractive and always kept immaculately clean. In addition to this, freshly baked biscuits, a cafetière and ground coffee were available in each room which was a bonus! We were also lucky enough to enjoy picturesque views of Table mountain from our balcony and windows.

Full cooked and continental breakfasts were delicious with daily home baked breads and cakes on offer. A wide variety of very good restaurants are conveniently based
in Kloof Street, which is a short walk away from the premises.

Many thanks to you all for helping to make our stay in Cape Town so brilliant. We'll definitely be making a return visit in the future.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ebony150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Our freshly baked goods are a real tradition at Welgelegen and something we could not live without, we are so glad that you enjoyed them too! Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our seventh year staying at Welgelegen. Always start our SA holiday with two or three days at this friendly, comfortable, boutique hotel. Staff can't do enough for you.
Hotel is at top end of Kloof, near some great restaurants, and close enough to stroll down into the centre. Highly recommend a stay here - haven't been disappointed yet.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Retired061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so glad that you love Welgelegen as much as we do! Thank you for your wonderful review and we cannot wait to welcome you back when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights in January 2018 as part of our honeymoon. There are cracking views of Table Mountain from the rooms and the hotel is nicely tucked away in a residential area, but still really close to Kloof Street where there are lot's of lovely restaurants and bars.

The breakfast is a little basic, however the peaceful setting and the helpful staff more than make up for this. In our case they went out of their way to help us with some washing when we were running really short on time.

There is a lovely courtyard area with a plunge pool, which is a little oasis where you can relax for an afternoon. We also had a lovely balcony with views over Cape Town, Lions Head and Signal Hill. To get down to the waterfront is a 10 minute taxi ride and similar to get to Camps Bay, so it really is well located for getting around Cape Town.

All in all a lovely stay and a good choice for people looking to stay a little off the beaten track and try some of the great restaurants around Kloof Street on foot!

Room Tip: Our room was in the new house and had great views as it's a little further up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a lovely review, thank you so much! Welgelegen is an urban sanctuary and we are so glad that you agree. We hope that you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only one night in this small, boutique hotel, two houses, back to back, joined by the garden &pool. Casual but professional staff, Rm.1 was airy, comfortable bed, good accessories. Area not quite as bohemian as we expected, slightly run down but no problems whatsoever. Found through Tripadvisor .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nbsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReturnAfrica, Manager at Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Welgelegen and do hope that you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1 057 reviews
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welgelegen Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen Boutique Guest House

Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 556 - R 3 264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Welgelegen Boutique Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, is located in a tranquil and quiet corner of Oranjezicht in two Victorian houses - just a short walk from the bustling Kloof Street, where some of Cape Town's Best Restaurants Cape Town's best local restaurants, bars and artisanal stores can be explored. The Cableway, Camps Bay and The Waterfront are no more than a ten minute drive away, and with views of both Table Mountain and Lion's Head, Welgelegen truly lives up to its translation: Well situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Welgelegen Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing