We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
451
69
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
69
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kloof street table mountain plunge pool complimentary port black sheep garden district cul de sac honor bar our honeymoon each evening small touches some great restaurants honesty bar lovely guesthouse quiet location common areas stayed here for three nights
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This was our first stop on our first holiday in SA. What a great start especially after an eleven-hour non-stop flight (with no in-flight entertainment!!).

The Welgelegen is a converted Victorian house on Stephen Street that has then been combined with another " out the back" on Hofmeyr Street. Other reviewers have captured the great taste with which this has all been done.

The whole team seemed determined for ensure we enjoyed our stay and they succeeded completely.

We were in room 1 which is the ground floor front room and which you might worry that it might be a bit noisy. It isn't. Stephen Street is now a cul de sac and the route to Kloof Street is through the rear entrance. Stephen Street has unrestricted parking outside the hotel.

It wasn't a drawback for us, but the house is built on the slope of a hill (the start of Table Mountain actually) so if stairs are a problem, then you might not enjoy this lovely hotel. That would be a pity. How many hotels do you know that leave a complementary decanter of port in your room?

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dmloclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Huge beautiful room with a very large balcony. The view from the balcony, looking down on the courtyard with pool. Views to downtown Cape Town And Table Mountain. Small intimate hotel with huge sitting room and indoor or outdoor eating. Everything very tasteful.
Brilliant breakfasts and great staff. Very close to good restaurants, and very well located for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cjlatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Superbly placed, divine old fashioned building with a central courtyard and plunge pool. This is one of the most relaxing places I have ever stayed in. Such a calm, relaxed atmosphere, very attentive staff and a superb breakfast on the terrace. Will definitely be calling here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This lovely boutique hotel is located a mere 5 minute walk from the wonderful restaurants of Kloof Street but it is located on a quiet side street. The rooms are small but beautifully appointed and the staff is attentive to your every need. This is a perfect place from which to explore Cape Town. Thank you to Charlie Harper of African Sojourns for finding this little gem for us.

Room Tip: Our room was on the interior courtyard and had its own private balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited Cape Town in February and were lucky enough to stay at home his small hotel straight out of Home and Garden! We were lucky enough to stay for four nights in room 9 with great views of Table Mountain. Room was well equipped with tea making facilities, stocked fridge and free local port. Breakfast was good and we took it regularly on the terrace by the plunge pool. The hotel was s very well placed near the top of Kloof Sreet with an easy and safe downhill walk to the waterfront - about 30 minutes walk but we tended to take a taxi - about 10 Rand. It is also very close to the excellent Black Sheep restaurant where we often ate at night - it pays to book for dinner. The staff at the hotel were excellent and very helpful with advice and assistance with bookings. Would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hezza1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews