We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Our Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welgelegen Boutique Guest House
Ranked #13 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Our first wedding anniversary was celebrated in South Africa. First stop, the Welgelegen Boutique Hotel in Cape Town. We had a prearranged photo shoot and at the last minute, the photographer made last minute changes. The manager a the hotel was our savior. She arranged the delivery of my flowers and eased my concerns.

The hotel is in a great neighborhood, you can see tabletop mountain. You enjoy the evening breeze from the front porch. Breakfast is served daily. Funny story about our room. We got locked in our room, the door was jammed. The worker came to rescue us. He unjammed the lock and entered. Then door would not open again and the 3 of us were locked in. I loved the location and the hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017

This was our first stop on our first holiday in SA. What a great start especially after an eleven-hour non-stop flight (with no in-flight entertainment!!).

The Welgelegen is a converted Victorian house on Stephen Street that has then been combined with another " out the back" on Hofmeyr Street. Other reviewers have captured the great taste with which this has all been done.

The whole team seemed determined for ensure we enjoyed our stay and they succeeded completely.

We were in room 1 which is the ground floor front room and which you might worry that it might be a bit noisy. It isn't. Stephen Street is now a cul de sac and the route to Kloof Street is through the rear entrance. Stephen Street has unrestricted parking outside the hotel.

It wasn't a drawback for us, but the house is built on the slope of a hill (the start of Table Mountain actually) so if stairs are a problem, then you might not enjoy this lovely hotel. That would be a pity. How many hotels do you know that leave a complementary decanter of port in your room?

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dmloclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Huge beautiful room with a very large balcony. The view from the balcony, looking down on the courtyard with pool. Views to downtown Cape Town And Table Mountain. Small intimate hotel with huge sitting room and indoor or outdoor eating. Everything very tasteful.
Brilliant breakfasts and great staff. Very close to good restaurants, and very well located for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cjlatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Superbly placed, divine old fashioned building with a central courtyard and plunge pool. This is one of the most relaxing places I have ever stayed in. Such a calm, relaxed atmosphere, very attentive staff and a superb breakfast on the terrace. Will definitely be calling here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This lovely boutique hotel is located a mere 5 minute walk from the wonderful restaurants of Kloof Street but it is located on a quiet side street. The rooms are small but beautifully appointed and the staff is attentive to your every need. This is a perfect place from which to explore Cape Town. Thank you to Charlie Harper of African Sojourns for finding this little gem for us.

Room Tip: Our room was on the interior courtyard and had its own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1 057 reviews
Cape Standard
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
317 reviews
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welgelegen Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen Boutique Guest House

Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 563 - R 3 277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Welgelegen Boutique Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welgelegen Boutique Guest House, is located in a tranquil and quiet corner of Oranjezicht in two Victorian houses - just a short walk from the bustling Kloof Street, where some of Cape Town's Best Restaurants Cape Town's best local restaurants, bars and artisanal stores can be explored. The Cableway, Camps Bay and The Waterfront are no more than a ten minute drive away, and with views of both Table Mountain and Lion's Head, Welgelegen truly lives up to its translation: Well situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Welgelegen Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing