We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AWOL Tours

AWOL Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46,72*
and up
Private Hiking Tour of Table Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: AWOL Tours offers exclusive hiking and biking adventures, with opportunities for genuine cultural exchange and natural encounters, personalised to ensure your extraordinary travel experience. AWOL Tours is a leading outdoor travel specialist for hiking and bicycle tourism in Cape Town, South Africa. We offer you opportunities for breathtaking adventure and authentic interactions. Our experienced AWOL team balance expert trip planning with eco-friendly activities, creating thrilling, memorable travel experiences for you. We've been at the forefront of responsible tourism since 2002, with repeated awards and happy client reviews to prove our success.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Great tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2017

Our Cape Town City Cycle tour was really great. Our guide was really knowledgeable, the biking was fun and the group was small enough that it was manageable. I wasn't a huge fan of the way we biked through busy intersections and crossed busy streets - biking on the left side was an adjustment for me and even though I bike a lot, I don't usually do it on busy streets. Would have appreciated more time to adjust or a second guide in the back to make sure no tour members got left behind or stuck in traffic.

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank rinas751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear rinas751, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your AWOL Tours Cape Town City Cycle Tour. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the experience and the company and expertise of your guide. We always keep our groups small to ensure that everyone feels safe and nobody gets left behind. Thank you for mentioning that you would have appreciated more time, I will of course speak to the AWOL guides and in future guests are provided more time to adjust to cycling on the right hand side of the road. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your time in Cape Town and look forward to welcoming you back for more cycling adventures. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    53
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Table Mountain Climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2017

We had an excellent guide for just the two of us. The route selection was great with magnificent views and interesting nature. AWOL was very flexible on pick up and drop off logistics. Highly recommend this tour!

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear Michael W, Thank you so much for reviewing your AWOL Table Mountain Hike in Cape Town. Private hiking experiences allow guides to really personalize the experience. We are able to be flexible to ensure that our guests requirements and preferences can be accommodated; and select routes that guests would really enjoy according to fitness and interests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the routes selected and the personal AWOL tours touch. Thank you again for the recommendation. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent guided climb up table mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2017

We had an excellent guided tour that took 4 - 5 hours including a breakfast. Guide was very friendly.

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Rianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear Rianne H, Thanks so much for the 5 star recommendation. We are so pleased that you had an excellent experience of hiking Table Mountain and enjoyed the company of your guide. Our AWOL hiking guides are renowned for their hiking picnics, our hikers never go hungry. We look forward to sharing more hiking experiences with you when you return to Cape Town, maybe the beautiful Cederberg region or some overnight hiking on the historic and diverse Hoerikwaggo Trail. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great way to exercise and drink wine at the same time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2017

Everything about this tour was great. Danielle our guide was both knowledgeable and friendly. The visits to the wineries were exceptional. Too of my favorite things together biking and wine.

Would highly recommend.

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Debset1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Debset1, Thank you so much for your AWOL Tours review. We couldn't agree more wine and wheels are a match made in vine heaven. The Cape wine regions are absolutely perfect for exploring history, culture and wine, with the beautiful scenery of mountains and vines. The AWOL winelands tours are very much available for all fitness levels and we are delighted that you enjoyed the company of your AWOL guide Danielle. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town for more cycling adventures. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assas, France
2 reviews
“Great tour in a great city !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2017

Super cool guide (Cape town style indeed) and a great way to discover this unique city.
I strongly recommend to do it (second time for me :-))

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Dominique C, Thanks so much for the recommendation this is very much appreciated.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Cape Town City Cycle Tour ( again) If you could please email me and let me know who your was so that I can pass on the lovely review that would be much appreciated. Hope that you will return and share more adventures with us.
Thank you again, Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AWOL Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to AWOL Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing