We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. ”
Review of AWOL Tours

AWOL Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45,66*
and up
Cape Town City Cycling Tour
More Info
US$57,08*
and up
Private Tour: Bicycle Township Tour in Cape Town
More Info
US$53,27*
and up
Private Hiking Tour of Table Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: AWOL Tours offers exclusive hiking and biking adventures, with opportunities for genuine cultural exchange and natural encounters, personalised to ensure your extraordinary travel experience. AWOL Tours is a leading outdoor travel specialist for hiking and bicycle tourism in Cape Town, South Africa. We offer you opportunities for breathtaking adventure and authentic interactions. Our experienced AWOL team balance expert trip planning with eco-friendly activities, creating thrilling, memorable travel experiences for you. We've been at the forefront of responsible tourism since 2002, with repeated awards and happy client reviews to prove our success.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Get some rest before the all day tour of Cape Point. It's a long day and can be hot and really windy as it was on our day. The van is fairly comfortable though not in the very back. The guide / driver was fun and flexible (Letitia). The sights are wonderful. Being at the cape of good hope is quite moving considering the history of all the mariners who have passed it over the centuries. The garden tour is at the end when one is fatigued which is a pity. Would be better at the beginning maybe. Lunch by the way in the cape point restaurant was surprisingly good and the view is world class. All in all well worth it.

Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear BallaghMan, Thank you for your review. Cape Point is a beautiful experience
Yes, the Two Oceans restaurant is one of our favourite lunch destinations on this route.
We hope that you enjoyed Cape Town and look forward to your return. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017

A very enjoyable cycle tour around the City centre with a knowledgable guide, taking in many Points of interest which might otherwise go unnoticed from a car

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank C3109RTandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear C3109RTandrew, Thank you so much for reviewing your AWOL Tours Cape Town City Cycle Tour. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the experience and the company of your professional cycling guide. Yes, this 3 hour tour is a beautiful way to get up close to the culture, architecture and history of Cape Town. We look forward to welcoming you back for more cycling adventures and thank you again for the recommendation. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Bevan was our guide on a 3-4 hour ride thru the Tokai park. He's knowledgeable, a great cyclist, and an entertaining conversationalist. He showed up on time, had great equipment for us ready to go, and made sure we had what we needed throughout the ride. very accommodating and responsive. We had a blast. The ride itself was challenging (lots of climbing and technical single track), and stunningly beautiful. AWOL is a solid company.

1  Thank raweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear raweil, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your AWOL Tours Mountain Biking experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the guiding expertise and company of your AWOL guide Bevan and the beautiful challenging Tokai Nature reserve. Private mountain biking tours allow us to ensure that guests can really enjoy an experience to their preferred pace and technical preference. AWOL spent last year Winter exploring the Cape Town and surrounds for more mountain biking options and now have a really unique portfolio of cycling adventures to suit every fitness and technical level. Thank you again for the recommendation, this is so very much appreciated. AWOL looks forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town for more mountain biking bliss. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We had the best bike tour EVER in Cape Town, Danielle our tourguide was so great, she had so much knowledge about the city, she was funny, she had a lot of patience (for my mother of 76 it was sometimes a bit hard to take the kerbstones), she took us to unknown beautiful squares, churches, parks, coffeebars. I would recommend this tour to everybody even when you think you already know the town (like we did).

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Annemieke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear Annemieke K, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your AWOL Tours Cape Town City Cycle with AWOL Tours. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the company of your guide Danielle and that she was able to modify the route to ensure that your mother could enjoy the experience. Cape Town really has so much to offer and even the locals who join this tour are always surprised. Thank you so much for the recommendation
this is very much appreciated, we hope that you will be able to join the Constantia half day winelands cycling experience when you return. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Our guide, Jeremy, was excellent. We spent two days with him and he was very polite, kind and patient with us throughout. Our party didn't have a lot of hiking experience, but he got us through it with smiles intact!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank aroth210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear aroth210, Thank you for your review of your 2 day overnight Table Mountain hiking tour. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the company of your AWOL Guide Jeremy, he really is an excellent guide and a very experienced Table Mountain Hiking guide and his cooking skills are excellent. Thank you again for the recommendation, we look very much forward to welcoming you back to South Africa for more hiking adventures, possibly in the beautiful Cederberg mountain region to explore the San art, rock pools and the Wolfberg Cracks. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AWOL Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to AWOL Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing