We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easiest way to get up and great views.”

Table Mountain Aerial Cableway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65,59*
and up
Table Mountain Skip-the-Line Ticket and Half-Day...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The best views of Cape Town are seen from the top of Table Mountain. The Cableway takes you to the summit in under 5 minutes and the cable car's rotating floor ensure that all visitors get a 360 degree aerial view of the city. The 65-passenger cable car runs from Tafelberg Road to the top of Table Mountain. To date the Cableway has transported more than 26 million visitors to the summit. A million visitors from all over the world use the Cableway annually.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Think they said only 3 of these cable cars in the world (they have two of them). Although you have to wait in line even with a ticket it is the fastest way to get up the mountain (hiking looked like a real adventure).

Thank Mackythorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fazielah W, Public Relations Manager at Table Mountain Aerial Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12 839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 2 972 reviews
"table mountain"
in 3 015 reviews
"rotating floor"
in 198 reviews
"car rotates"
in 151 reviews
"degree view"
in 212 reviews
"buy your tickets"
in 151 reviews
"mountain top"
in 111 reviews
"high winds"
in 197 reviews
"spectacular views"
in 295 reviews
"sunny day"
in 130 reviews
"views of cape town"
in 115 reviews
"walk up"
in 107 reviews
"hop on hop off bus"
in 99 reviews
"robben island"
in 125 reviews
"queue"
in 1 812 reviews
"ride"
in 1 163 reviews
"clouds"
in 724 reviews
Filter

3 745 - 3 749 of 12 839 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived from London to our hotel around 9 am and they advised us to go more or less straight away as the weather forecast showed high wind for the next few days. Thank goodness we did. Bit of a queue but it was top season and Sunday. We probably waited 45 mins but it moved well and was well organised.

It was a stunning day. Perfect views and no wind. My expectation was that it would be good but until you get there you really can't appreciate how spectacular it is

Simply cannot be missed but make sure you take the first opportunity to do it. We were in Cape Town for 3 days and if we hotel had not pushed us to do it we would have missed it due to high winds.

Thank Richard083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Definitely the quickest and least strenuous method to get you to the top of table mountain. You have to be quick to take in all the views as you descend, unfortunately our views were blurred with the fog so just keep an eye on the weather to avoid any obstructions.

Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fazielah W, Public Relations Manager at Table Mountain Aerial Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Everything is run well. Staff are friendly and have a great sense of humour. Very polite and helpful

Thank mitesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fazielah W, Public Relations Manager at Table Mountain Aerial Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

I hiked up Table Mtn and used the cable car on the way down (bought a ticket at the summit and lines were shorter). Our was short but the views were still breathtaking. It moves slowly so it's managing for people who don't like heights and fast acceleration.

Thank joeyjoi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Table Mountain Aerial Cableway also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Table Mountain Aerial Cableway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing