We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try if in cape town”

Bukhara V&A Waterfront
Ranked #423 of 1 111 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 October 2019

The menu is quite small but a good range the service was brilliant and really friendly the food is quality as is the wine and as good as any where we have had Indian before if you are looking for Indian in Cape Town please go here

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2019

Ruined our cape town dining experience. We have travelled across the globe and never had such sort of awful experience. To start with as soon as we enter red the racist waiter said you can’t sit in any particular area as we had a little three year old with us. And clearly other people were sitting around where ever who came before, with and after us. The other waiter who came to took the order, rushed so much and got the wrong order eventually. The food was cold and tasteless which left us surprised that such a tasteless food and people are showing no needed attitude. At the end when we paid and requested the manager to come and take the feedback, the surprise comes. He started shouting and said go back where u came from, pushed my wife and asked us to leave the place. Never had such a racist experience ever.

Would give zero star if possible
Avoid at any cost.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Diiyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019

My family and I visited the restaurant on Saturday 21 September 2019 while on holiday in Cape Town. This was the worst experience I have ever had at a restaurant. The service was poor with only three waiters there of which only one was really working. Service was rushed and prawn curry was nothing like the description (disgusting).

The bill arrived which amounted to R1,400 and the impatient waiter entered R14,000 into the card machine and pressed enter to the next screen to enter pin (this machine did not show the amount to be paid on the “enter pin” screen).

About a half an hour later I realized that an extra “0” had been added to my bill and instead of paying R1,400 I had paid R14,000. A whole additional R12,600 extra. Upon returning to the store to politely explain the error to the manager, Mr FAIZAL JOHNSTONE, and ask for a refund, I was rudely told that their machines can’t refund on a credit card and I should return on Monday. This arrogant, and rude imbecile has no understanding of customer service or respect for a fellow human being and the situation soon turned ugly.

I will never return to this restaurant again and would like to bring this sort of service to the attention of fellow diners.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Nv786123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019 via mobile

Just visited the place and they have no vegan options in the indian menu. Very surprising for an North Indian restaurant not to have a vegan option. Apparently all their food is pre prepared with butter and ghee in it. We asked if they can make jeera aloo vegan. The manager replies it will tKe is 1 hr to do so as well have to boil the potatoes! Bukhara needs to remove the word vegan from their advertisements and promotions

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank ratisht2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019 via mobile

We went twice there . Easy walk from Table Bay hotel where we were staying . Nice views to the waterfront . Very tasty food . Especially liked Lamb Kabab and kulfi too . Very reasonably priced as well

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank vickicork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bukhara V&A Waterfront also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bukhara V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.