We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with friends”

Bukhara V&A Waterfront
Ranked #429 of 1 109 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Excellent food. Excellent service. Our waiter Ali is very friendly and efficient. It was an enjoyable visit and seemed like a treat.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank KLMAGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

Had some Asian clients who we really tried to treat to some Asian cuisine in SA.

Not all items on the menu was available , and service was really poor for such an establishment.

Wines overpriced. Limited stock!!!

In general the food was fair to good , but when paying a premium at the v&a , one expects to get the best in food and service.

Not on my bucket list to visit again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

Visited Bukhara at V and A today after 4 yrs.
Very disappointed.
Quality has drastically diminished.

Chicken biryani was really poor.
Seekh lamb was bland.
Tandoori chicken was ok.

Dessert of ice cream mango was horrible.
Tasteless

A lost past treasure slowly flowing sadly into the harbour.

Our last visit here

Now for a Macdonalds....

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Ikshasingh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2019

Bukhara is an upmarket restaurant. I loved going to the Sandton (Joburg) restaurant and the Long St (Cape Town). Sadly the Sandton restaurant burned down and the Long St one closed. I went to the Bukhara at the V&A Waterfront. Finally shown my table after being handed off to 3 waiters, despite making a booking. The decor and serving dish standards have dropped including the waiting standards. Waiters were ill-prepared to serve, unfriendly and lacked a general sense of communication expected at a upmarket restaurant. Lamb korma was good, butter chicken was terrible. Manager insisted that it was the best. Such a disappointment.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clayton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2019

We had previously visited the town branch and it was excellent. They have now moved to the V&A. The atmosphere was poor, the food quite good, but the service was non existent . We waited for drinks that didn't arrive , and then when they did, they did not come together for all four quests. Many menu items were out of stock. When our meal eventually arrived, it came without the rice and sambals. We waited and then had to go and look for a waiter to bring this. The manager apologised ,and was most helpful, but the evening, which we had recommended to our quests, was a disaster, mainly from the point of view of service. We will never revisit

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WendyC4015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bukhara V&A Waterfront also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bukhara V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.