We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best guide ever!

John was wonderful! He is incredibly knowledgeable on a wide range of topics and is very... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2018
arayka2016
,
McHenry, Illinois
Day tour to Cape of Good Hope and the 2 day wine tour

We toured with John who was perfect and extremely knowledgeable. Was more like traveling around... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2018
argede0
,
McHenry, Illinois
Read all 53 reviews
  
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
53
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine country wine tour south africa fantastic wine day tour wealth of knowledge cape point itinerary history fairview wineries winery route accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017

It's been almost two months since our stay in Cape Town, but the memories of touring the city and the cape with John Lawrence still fills us with warmth. The mechanics of organizing the trip and meeting up worked without a hitch, and we saw the sights stress-free. More importantly, John is deeply knowledgeable and brings everything to life. You feel a strong connection to the place and its complicated history, all told with a love that does not gloss over troubled times. Our 16 year-old daughter enjoyed it just as much as we did. If you don't only want to see the attractions but also want to get a feel for this beautiful place, I can't think of a better guide than John Lawrence.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We drew on Big Blue Sky Tours for help during a four day stay in Cape Town, as part of a two week family holiday in South Africa. Fantastic support - we were able to customise and plan our four days of tours easily, and informally, through back and forths over email ahead of our holiday; and then had a fantastic four days while we were there, visiting Table Mountain, bits of Cape Town, Kirstenboch, Constantia valley, Robben Island, all round the Cape, and into a township too. Very special as a guide is the owner, John Lawrence himself, who brings an extensive, rich understanding of South(and indeed -ern) Africa's history, which he is able to impart with anecdote and insight, coupled with warmth and humour, that engaged both my wife and I, but also, importantly, our two children aged 14 and 11. Can't recommend highly enough.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank 131barneyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We spent two fantastic days with John in the Western Cape Wine Lands. Everything went smoothly from the first contact by email, itinerary proposal, pick up from our CT hotel, etc.
The journey took us from Cape Town in a northern direction to Swartland. We started at the Groote Post and from there towards Darling where we had time to visit Evita se Peron. A cultural and political treasure in the middle of nowhere. Although we actually booked a wine tour, we had lunch at a great local micro brewery in Darling, called Darling Brew; nice local brews and tasty food. From there we moved on towards Riebeek-Kasteel where we stayed at the Royal Hotel; again great food in a very intimate setting. If you go for the "desert plankie" after dinner, make sure you don't overeat with the entrees. On our second day we visited on our way back another three wine estates; one of them we want to mention here because their wine and hospitality were simply outstanding: Jacaranda Wine Estate in Wellington. This small but exquisite estate - the smallest in South Africa - was our high light during this overnight tour.
John, thank you very much for this incredible tour, filled with fantastic wine and food and on top of all we got a lot of background information about South Africa and the Cape region in specific. If you are looking for a tailor made tour in the Cape Region with a personal touch we can only recommend booking a tour with John at Big Blue Sky Tours.
Marianne and Florian

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank marianneandflorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We spent one half day touring wine country with John. He gave us the history of the wine region and current information on the area. John also stopped at a local pottery shop when I mentioned my interest. He suggested stops that he felt would be most representative of the area. John had been recommended by two other couples and I can see why. For very personal attention be sure to contact John.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank mgura50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

John made our two days in Cape Town really special. More than just a tour guide, he showed us around like a friend with an immense knowledge of this breathtaking coastal city. I particularly enjoyed my casual conversations with John about anything under the big blue sky, and his articulate sense of dry humour never failed to crack me up. John would have each day's itinerary carefully planned, with tickets ready for each destination and restaurant booked for our meals. On day one, John took us around the coast starting from the west, with a narrative at various locations and sometimes stopping briefly for beautiful photo ops. We visited Hout Bay where we took a ferry ride to Seal Island, stopped for seafood lunch at Two Oceans at False Bay, drove down to The Cape of Good Hope, and finally to Boulders Beach to meet a colony of penguins. On the second day, we went up to Table Mountain in the morning then visited wine farms for the rest of the afternoon, stopping by at Fairview for some wine and cheese, had a superb lunch at La Petite Ferme, and finally to La Motte for more wine. We ended our second evening with dinner at the Waterfront. What an amazing two days with John. I can't recommend Big Blue Sky Tours enough to anyone who plans to visit Cape Town. There are tour guides and there is John Lawrence. Thank you John!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank 715casew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews